1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx III Firmware Version 2.03

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Dec 3, 2018.

  1. AlGrenadine

    AlGrenadine
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,735
    Likes Received:
    6,097
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    It's the same but has less parameters and uses less cpu
     
  2. bdrepko

    bdrepko
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    889
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Why such a big difference in sound. Have you tried comparing between the two? The difference is pretty significant.
     
  3. yngwie1993

    yngwie1993
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal,Québec
    Merci,je vient tout juste de le trouver:)
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  4. yngwie1993

    yngwie1993
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal,Québec
    thank you so much,i.'ve just find it:)
     
    is9582 likes this.
  5. #125 Moke, Dec 5, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
    Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,277
    Likes Received:
    4,938
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Hey Cliff @FractalAudio , I believe I found a bug in 2.03. It has to do with 'Scene copy' function and the 'Control Switches'. I noticed that the 'CS per Scene' tab has been moved to the new 'Per-Preset FC Settings' menu. Maybe this has something to do with the issue I found?

    When helping a customer that was attempting to copy a scene into a different scene location, the Control Switch 'On/Off' states are no longer carried over to the pasted scene. This used to work on firmware 1.18.

    As a matter of fact, the scene controller settings are also not copying and pasting correctly in this firmware.
     
  6. Larzzz

    Larzzz
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    10
    Was a similar shift made to SPDIF levels? I'm trying to reamp through SPDIF in the first time for awhile, and I'm getting super low input levels hitting input 1 when I set input 1 to listen to SPDIF.

    And I'm now noticing that when I change the input level of USB channels 5 and 6, the SPDIF volume is responding.

    Am I crazy?

    Thanks!
     
  7. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,096
    Likes Received:
    75,905
    If reamping via SPDIF set your USB 5/6 return level to 0.0 dB.
     
    Larzzz likes this.
  8. 2112

    2112
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    6,494
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    A popular boosting technique is to use a drive pedal with the drive on 0 and level on 10 into an already dirty amp, to act essentially as a clean boost or pre-EQ; the input boost mimics this behaviour, albeit with more control over the level hitting the amp.

    Try compare the T808 input boost against a T808 drive block with the drive at 0 and level at 10.

    Which amp are you using it with? I've got more time today to play with it.
     
    ∞Fractals and NeoSound like this.
  9. #129 AlGrenadine, Dec 6, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
    AlGrenadine

    AlGrenadine
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,735
    Likes Received:
    6,097
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    I think it was a recto 2
    It had more grit than the ts9 on my higain preset
     
  10. #130 Piing, Dec 6, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
    Piing

    Piing
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    900
    Location:
    Thailand
    Live Mode is working at the new Cab-Lab 3 release (3.4.2). Thank you!

    However, if USB-1/2 level is set to 0dB, the volume of Cab-Lab Live Mode is much higher than the volume of the same IR loaded at the Axe-FX (with CAB level 0dB). I have to set USB-1/2 volume around -8.5 dB to equalize the levels. Can this be normalized at 0 dB?
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  11. oldstar1975

    oldstar1975
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Russia
    My MacBook Pro didn't working right after upgrade to 2.03. USB level -7 db, no sound at all. First 10 minutes there was no problems, after that sound disappeared. Then I choose internal dynamics I hear the sound normally, then switching back to Axe - silent.
     
  12. xfiles73

    xfiles73
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks Leon, you are our preset Pusher and Fractal Fuel Charger........ ;-)
     
    2112 likes this.
  13. Rain

    Rain
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    New York
    Hi, I have a new MacBook Pro... I installed 2.03 and Set USB Level to 0.00. I had no sound at first. I Unplugged the Axe and plugged it back in and everything has been perfect.
     
  14. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,827
    Likes Received:
    22,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Internal dynamics?
     
  15. Rain

    Rain
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    New York
    I’m guessing he means the MacBook Internal Speakers ....
     
    yek likes this.
  16. oldstar1975

    oldstar1975
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Russia
    yes. of cause, please forgive me for my bad English. I rebooted and replugged all the devices, and problem stayed the same. Then I closed browser on Mac and rebooted again, problem solved. I hope it was youtube page with background video.. mottling more ideas
     
  17. APOGEE123

    APOGEE123
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    M-assholechusetts
    I really love the last few updates.. updated room algorithm in the cab sounds great..would love to see updates
    to the mic pre emulation in th cab block also. I mean it sounds great maybe a few new different mic preamps...
     
  18. Brian Angiel

    Brian Angiel
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    78
    This can be approximated with a PEQ block. Check out the thread on this in the Axe FX III wishlist area.
     
  19. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8,092
    Likes Received:
    4,445
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Probably better to post these items in the Axe Fx II Wish List forum, not as a reply in the Axe Fx III firmware release thread...
     
    Brian Angiel likes this.
  20. #140 stereotactic, Dec 6, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
    stereotactic

    stereotactic
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    91
    Has anybody confirmed this? I do notice that the boost switch in the preamp section has a different scale/value for the boost/drive parameter. In the preamp block, the increments are in dB up to 24, whereas in the drive block it is listed as “Drive” and it maxes out at 10. Also some of the boost type names are different between the drive and preamp input boost options/list...
     

Share This Page