I/O Instrument Input set to 28% for Les Paul...is this what others are experiencing

dschaaf

Experienced
I am sure every guitar & pup combination will vary I am just wondering if others using LP's are finding they need to set the Instr In (I/O panel) to 26-30% to barely "tickle the reds"? I am using a Les Paul Standard '59 with the standard humbuckers in it.

Just seems kind of low to me but maybe not :)

Thanks,
D.

I use 26% for my PRS 513 "heavy humbucker" setting and 28% for my P90 guitar. Looks like you're in the zone to me!

Terry.

Interesting - With my SG and Carvin Dc127 I have to max out the instrument input to tickle the reds on my axeII. Anyone else experience this?

I've always thought setting the input level was a little vaque... to my ears, 'tickling the reds' always sounded little too close to clipping territory (with my guitars it needs to be over 75%+). I'm new to AXE FX so could be my inexperience with the unit.. Still learning..

I use Fender standard tele, strat, and an Ibanez ART all at same input at around 50 ~ 55%. To my ears it sounds the most stable...

Would anybody correct if I am doing anything wrong? Thanks.

I'll crank it almost to 100% with vintage style strat pickups and down to 25-30% with humbuckers. Varies a lot. I've seen the wish item for presets for different guitars which I think would be a great idea. I'd have the input gain level and the amp gain level in global settings included. Those 2 settings enable me to use very different guitars with the same presets quite effectively now.

Actually, any typical level settings from FAS for the STANDARD manufacturers guitars (with standard stock pickups) would be appreciated. I don't believe it is a silly idea to have something standardised. Or could this be of personal preferences?
All the things said, I am overjoyed with how AXE FX II sound. :D