1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

[fixed] Scene Volume Incr/Decr volume dropout

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by Home Skillet, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. Home Skillet

    Home Skillet
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Just wondering if anyone experiences a very brief volume dropout when activating Scene Volume Increment or Decrement. I'm using my MFC-101, so I'm not sure if there's something I may have misconfigured in my MIDI settings. I understand I shouldn't compare the II to the III but didn't experience volume dropout with the II. Is this expected behavior?
     
  2. jefferski

    jefferski
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Location:
    Denverland
    As you say, the II doesn't have any dropout, but the AX8 does. When I asked about it, Matt or somebody said that the CPU (or memory, I don't remember which) on the AX8 couldn't keep up so there was a short dropout. I'm surprised the III has this issue because it has so much power. (unless it is something related to the MFC)
     
  3. Rain

    Rain
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    New York
    Hi, are you Connected to Axe-Edit at the same time ?
     
  4. Home Skillet

    Home Skillet
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No, not connected to Axe-Edit at the same time.
     
  5. Rain

    Rain
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    New York
    Ok, Let me check mine .... hold tight
     
  6. Rain

    Rain
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    New York
    Ok I just checked my Set-Up...
    Axe FX III MMGT 22
    It’s not happening with my gear.
    All I hear is the 1db Boost or Cut when I engage Inc Or Dec.
    I don’t hear a Volume Dropout...
     
  7. Hooligan

    Hooligan
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    74
    Mine does this too. Axe Fx III AND MFC 101 mk iii. Additionally, if I go up or down like 10 clicks or so, there will be a long dropout followed by a weird delay effect, like the Axe is “catching up.” I posted about this a few months back, and a couple helpful people commented, but no real solutions were made available. I hope you get better traction.
     
    Home Skillet likes this.
  8. andyp13

    andyp13
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    UK
    Mine has dropout also when I engage inc/Dec :(
    Not good when adjusting mid-solo.
     
  9. Home Skillet

    Home Skillet
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thanks for checking, I appreciate it.
     
    Rain likes this.
  10. Home Skillet

    Home Skillet
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Exactly. btw, are you using an MFC-101 with your III?
     
  11. blackmoreguitar

    blackmoreguitar
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    I thought this feature was meant as a convenient way to level scene volumes and not for use during performance; at least that's how I use it. It autosaves each time you hit it which would explain the dropouts. I should just caveat all that by saying I don't have a III; I have a II and an AX8.
     
    simonp54 likes this.
  12. andyp13

    andyp13
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    UK
    No, I’m using an RJM GT16
     
  13. andyp13

    andyp13
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    UK
    Sometimes I need to add a little more or less volume during a show...
     
  14. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    23,309
    Likes Received:
    14,608
    It’s not meant to give a momentary volume boost. It’s to allow setting a new value. If it causes an audio gap while playing, adjust it in between phrases. Or have another boost block or similar available for that moment if it keeps happening.
     
  15. Tom Morris

    Tom Morris
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    553
    Location:
    Florida
    Mine does the hickup, AFXIII MFC101 MKIII with a two button momentary switch connected to the MFC.
     
  16. pauliusmm

    pauliusmm
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Lithuania

    I use this feature live too. Its incredibly useful, but the dropouts really suck on AX8. I know there is no solution if its CPU related, unless there was an option to disable saving. Its really convinient to boost up and down in 1 dB increments.
     
  17. 666was999

    666was999
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Germany, Saarland
    I guess you presume that when you program your presets right at home they simply fit with the band so you don't need to correct settings?
    I think that never happened to anyone...programming at home and it fits. There's always some corrections to make until it really fits. Among the things that are wrong volume balancing the sounds is an important point.
     
  18. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,845
    Likes Received:
    8,766
    The main idea, whether your gear has a Level Incr function or not, is to have your levels dialed in — in the band context — before the first downbeat of the gig. That means you do your Incr/Decr stomps in rehearsal or at sound check. Once the gig is underway, any level adjustments you need to make should be global, and doable with an output knob or a null filter with a fixed boost. And those adjustments are only to satisfy what you need to hear in your monitor. THe guy at the desk will be tweaking FOH anyway, rendering your adjustments useless out front.
     
    666was999 and blackmoreguitar like this.
  19. jefferski

    jefferski
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Location:
    Denverland
    While I agree in principle with you and chris, this isn't how it always works.

    First, there isn't always someone at FOH (or someone who's paying that much attention). I've played many shows where the person sets levels at soundcheck and may or may not even stay at the board - much less actually noticing whether some specific part is at the right volume. Of course, touring bands and larger venues etc have their own dedicated soundman but many of us don't. Ever played in a local club where the "soundman" is also the bar-back? Half the time you can't find them even when you need them for something major.

    Second, even when I dial it in *perfectly* at practice (and at gig volume), I'll get to a venue and there are many variables - stage layout, room acoustics, etc - that sometimes require the ability for quick boosts or cuts. It's great to have FOH who are committed to our sound and familiar enough with our songs that they know what to do, but playing in bars you often don't get that option - so it's up to us to fix on the fly. +/- is a great solution for this, and it was much easier to use on the II which doesn't have a dropout ;-)
     
    666was999 and King’s X - Jason like this.
  20. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    23,309
    Likes Received:
    14,608
    As I said here, it’s not meant for a “lead boost” moment. Many other ways to do this (filter block, eq, etc.)

    If it causes an audio gap, simply don’t use it while playing guitar. Tap it between phrases.

    I didn’t say things should be dialed in perfectly before the gig. That’s exactly why a feature like this exists. But it’s simply not a “lead boost.” It’s a level adjustment.
     
    666was999 and jefferski like this.

Share This Page