1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx III Firmware 2.00 Public Beta #2

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Nov 18, 2018.

  1. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,168
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Tracking works fantastic! I don’t do much stuff with pitch tracking really, but had a Sub n’ Up and a POG, as they were the only units that felt overly useable but they obviously sounded like an effect

    The new tracking doesn’t sound (or feel) like using an effect, which is about the highest praise I can give for it.

    I play at home, and have lots of guitars, so I’ll still use ones tuned a specific way, but this update really provides so great versatility and a lot of cool new tone potential.

    Getting an update like this, with some massive new features, is a great reminder why the III was worth every penny I spent. Already was straight out of the box honestly, but then when you get some seriously updates features, it’s just “wow......love this product and company” lol
     
    bradlake and yek like this.
  2. APOGEE123

    APOGEE123
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    M-assholechusetts
    So there was an issue with beta 1?
     
  3. sirus1987

    sirus1987
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    96
    Apologize for nothing sir, it sounded great!
     
  4. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,096
    Likes Received:
    75,905
    There were a couple minor bugs. Beta 2 is close to release quality. One reported issue with input meters that we can't reproduce and there's a typo in the Pitch block GUI.
     
  5. #45 WITELITE, Nov 19, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
    WITELITE

    WITELITE
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    St. Louis , MO
    Hi Cliff,

    I just sent a dropbox link to fractal support via email trying to show the issue. Preset one which it boots to has a number of global blocks. I can send the preset and any other info you need if helpful

    (Also sent preset and system files)

    MM
     
  6. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,096
    Likes Received:
    75,905
    I don't have access to that email and I don't use dropbox because it is not secure.

    If you remove the global block links does the problem go away? What is the CPU usage? It sounds like you might have excessively high CPU usage which will make the meters unresponsive.
     
    lp59 likes this.
  7. phil92

    phil92
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    it's very subtle but I love Speaker Compliance! Improves the feel and is exactly 19% more fun to play!
     
    Randy4Guitars, biskitboy and NeoSound like this.
  8. WITELITE

    WITELITE
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    St. Louis , MO
    CPU usage is 87% so it is high but it had never done it before. And the interesting thing is that after about 3 minutes It looks like the input meters start to respond as does the midi (which is also initially slow to respond) . Almost as if the program is still loading. I'll check the global blocks thing as well
     
  9. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,827
    Likes Received:
    22,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    87% really is much too high. Everything will slow down. Try keeping presets under 80%.
     
    austinbuddy and lp59 like this.
  10. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,096
    Likes Received:
    75,905
    That is too high. There is background stuff going on that finishes after a few minutes. Once the background tasks finish the GUI thread has more resources available.

    IOW, this isn't a bug, your CPU usage is too high.
     
    lp59 likes this.
  11. FreeMind

    FreeMind
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    486
    Probably would be a good idea to somehow indicate a warning that cpu usage is so high, that it may cause malfunction somewhere, like in this case.
    So... Since Axe 3 screen is colored, the minimum can be done is to paint the number in Red, when over 80 percent.
     
  12. h.c.e.

    h.c.e.
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    722
    Location:
    San Francisco
    such a warning does exist in Axe-Edit III... not in front of unit at the moment, can’t remember if one is there too or not.
     
  13. notalemming

    notalemming
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    666
    I'm having no luck with the pitch shift, 2.0 beta 2. I get a lot of latency no matter what I do. I created a new preset from an empty slot, added input, pitch, amp, cab & out blocks in that order. Set the pitch block to virtual capo, detector to input 1 (a little better than block) & even with shift set to 0, I get a lot of latency, more than I could deal with & still play tight with a band or track. If I set the shift to -1, it gets worse. I have tried setting the tracking to various levels between 0 & 10 & the latency never gets any better. There has to be something wrong since everyone else seems to love the new pitch shift. I can't come close to a useable setting. I have had the same issue on previous firmwares on the III & the II. Any ideas as to what is going on? Thanks!
     
  14. Andriy Bukatar

    Andriy Bukatar
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    FWIW, i had a similar (i think) issue on 1.19 beta - several days after i have installed it i might add. Unit reboot did not help. I had to update the firmware again to the same 1.19 beta and the issue disappeared
     
  15. Intheband

    Intheband
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    49
    “Existing presets will load with this parameter at 0.0 and will be unchanged tonally from the previous firmware (IOW your presets will not be altered). “
    So, do we need to go back and change all the presets to the new perameter?
    I’m not sure what’s going on here, and what/ when is optimal.
    Could you expand on this please? Thanks
     
  16. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,096
    Likes Received:
    75,905
    Pitch shifting necessarily adds latency. Pitch shifting is a perceptual process. It requires a reasonable amount of history to work. This adds latency. Typically 20ms and up. Some people are more tolerant to latency than others. I've compared the latency of our algorithm to other products and ours is equal or better but there is latency in any pitch shifter.

    All pitch shifters have tradeoffs. The lower the latency the more prone they are to tremolo artifacts, double transients and other issues. Solving those issues increases the latency and the computational burden. The only pitch shifting algorithm that has negligible latency is the "Rollers" algorithm but that requires insane amounts of CPU and the samples I've heard aren't impressive. It also has its share of issues (smearing, chirping).
     
    Henry and lp59 like this.
  17. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,096
    Likes Received:
    75,905
    "IOW" means "in other words". So your existing presets will sound exactly the same as they did before. If you want to take advantage of the new Speaker Compliance parameter then adjust it to a value that sounds/feels good to you. Start at 50% as this is the default.
     
  18. notalemming

    notalemming
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    666
    I understand the pitch shift will create latency. It's just I am not hearing any noticeable improvement from previous versions on the III or the II. I added a mono delay with 100% mix to try and estimate the amount of latency I'm getting & it's at least 35ms. I would also say listening with headphones, it sounds like there is a doubling effect. I initially thought it was me hearing my strings acoustically but it's not. I'm just trying to figure out if something is wrong here, not complain.
     
  19. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    14,417
    it says existing presets will be unchanged.

    since existing presets are unchanged, if you want something to be changed, then you'll have to change it.

    you'll have to decide what's optimal. do you like your presets as they are now? then you don't need to do anything. do you want to try the new parameter? then try it out and decide if you like it.

    this approach to updating is highly desired - we get the new things, but our current sounds and presets don't change. that allows working musicians to update without fear of suddenly sounding different at the gig in 1 hour after you update.
     
  20. FreeMind

    FreeMind
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    486
    Any more detail on what Speaker Compliance is, and the physics behind that?...
     

Share This Page