1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx II Technical Questions Thread

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by FractalAudio, May 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DanielRigler

    DanielRigler
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Hungary
    Are the drive models more advanced than in the previous version? What is the easiest way to stream an mp3 from a PC to jam along without a mixer?
     
  2. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    The II has digitally controlled potentiometers before and after the A/D and D/A converters. Therefore it knows what the input and output gains are. It compensates for these gains in the digital path. This allows "unity gain processing". If you set the Output Level knob to maximum you will get out what you put in (assuming the blocks have no gain).

    So if you were to make a preset with shunts from input to output and you put a 1V signal into the unit you would get 1V out.

    This means no-muss, no-fuss when doing the 4CM.
     
  3. Rush2112

    Rush2112
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why did you leave digital i/o at 48khz?
     
  4. larbear63

    larbear63
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    26
    what about the editor?
    is there a complete new one for the axeII?
     
  5. kfliegner

    kfliegner
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    396
    This was my question. Thanks, BTW, for answering questions.
     
  6. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    1. The "Input Knobs" are now soft knobs in the I/O menu since the input levels are controlled via digitally-controlled potentiometers.

    2. Room Level, Room Size, Mic Spacing, Low Cut and High Cut.

    3. Not at this time.

    4. Yes. The sysex data contains the name of the IR and is displayed.

    5. No.
     
  7. Zer0th

    Zer0th
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    134
    Input impedance per preset... what's the range?
     
  8. Raven

    Raven
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cliff, with the inclusion of USB for reamping etc. how come the unit is still locked out to only working digitally at 48K? I've never understood this decision as it's a sample rate that one would only ever possibly be working in if they were creating content for DVD, why not the option to operate at 44.1 or 88.2?
     
  9. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    Same reason as before. If you want a different rate, let your computer resample. Modelers always have a native sample rate. If they are offering different output sample rates then they are just resampling. Modern software resamplers are better.
     
  10. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    Hook up the USB and play the MP3. The MP3 will mix into the Axe-Fx II output. Adjust the volume of the MP3 to set the mix. I do this all the time now.
     
  11. vinnieRice

    vinnieRice
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    The UK of Englandshire
    It's 48kHz and it's an extremely common rate for recording. Your DAW can convert to any rate you like.
     
  12. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    70K - 1Meg, IIRC.
     
  13. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    What he said.
     
  14. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    What he said.
     
  15. flyingfadr

    flyingfadr
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,667
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl.
    Will presets created in my ultra work with the AxeFX II ?
     
  16. Michele Guzzini

    Michele Guzzini
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    17
    What about spillover? Is it like the old one or now it's fully working?
     
  17. Armin

    Armin
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    38
    What parameters are in the new CAB block?

    a) Can you tell a little bit more about it, is it some kind of 'Room effect'?

    b) No more mic model - or is it an extra block now?

    c) Any chance to create that 'Amp in the room sound' - instead of the usual 'control room sound' - are all included IR's close mic'ed ones?
     
  18. GreatGreen

    GreatGreen
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    723
    1. How many amp models can the Axe-Fx II's firmware theoretically hold compared to the Axe-Fx Ultra's?

    2. What is the Axe-Fx II's patch grid layout? 4x12 blocks like the original Axe-Fx?
     
  19. calleballe11

    calleballe11
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Sweden
    Having heard the new amp sims, how close do you think the models in the Ultra was listening in retrospective? (In percent).
     
  20. eraserhead

    eraserhead
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    34
    Cliff, Can you tell us about the effect modeling and a hint on what units. Also now that the unit has Usb will it be able to load reverb IR's in the future.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page