1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx II "Quantum" Rev 5.00 Firmware Released

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. #181 Richard Hallebeek, Oct 23, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
    Richard Hallebeek

    Richard Hallebeek
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I hope for the Hook guys in IJsselstein, Holland, this will help get their name out and boost the sales of the amp. It's happened in the past also for other amps builders who got their amps added to the Axe FX range of models. I've been playing the Hook amp live since 2008 and never looked for anything else. Beautiful responsive amp with a classic three channel configuration any player can relate to. The amp also has a trick on the clean channel: pull the gain knob out and the whole EQ section of the clean channel is bypassed. So guitar goes straight to the tube power amp. Add a nice chorus in the loop of the amp or in front with some delay and you won't believe your ears how nice clean that sounds.

    I'm playing that channel live right here:

     
  2. Wolfenstein98k

    Wolfenstein98k
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    719
    @FractalAudio ... Any tips on how best to replicate this? A tonestack or something?
     
  3. #183 FractalAudio, Oct 23, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
    FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    Set the Tonestack Type to "Neutral" and increase Input Trim to 5.0.

    [EDIT] Ignore that. I forgot I added a version of the tonestack with the gain knob pulled. Choose the "HOOK CLEAN 2" tonestack type.
     
  4. soheil

    soheil
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    625
    Location:
    Iran
    Uploaded and tried it. Best firmware yet. Thanks a million Cliff :)
     
  5. crg123

    crg123
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Woah. I didn't know FracTool could do this. Thanks for such a great program!
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  6. NeoSound

    NeoSound
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,567
    Likes Received:
    2,642
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I had the chance to play a couple hours last night. This FW is pretty special imo, some of the best tones ever :)
     
  7. LPaulasBestFriend

    LPaulasBestFriend
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Germany ... where the wild roses grow ...
    Great Rick!
    Soulful and expressive ;-)
    I like that very much.

    The sound reminds me of Philip Catherine and
    sometimes Jan Akkerman.
    I think I'll try the Hook with Cliffs tips to set the
    tonestack.

    Kind regards
    Mike
     
    Richard Hallebeek and jakbur like this.
  8. scorch

    scorch
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    S. E Texas
    Did anyone else have all their preamp settings reset by this firmware. I had many presets setup for Q5 beta and this new firmware set everything back to Q4, all pre tubes to 12AX7A and no harmonics.

    I thought this had been fixed or is this my own personal demon. Fixing all this presets manually is getting so tiresome....
     
  9. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    I've improved it since. I found a minor error in bias cancellation that affected how the cathode follower was behaving. Sounds better with that fixed.
     
  10. zbaljak1

    zbaljak1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    14
    I dont know why but when i change modeling version from 4 to 5, level just dropdown for 4-5 db on Brit JVM OD2
     
  11. lonestar

    lonestar
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Germany
    Please take a look at the Tonestack - Hook Clean 1 - it`s verry quietly when you compare to the ohter 2 Hook Tonestacks. Thanks.
     
  12. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    The model is correct. Tonestacks have varying degrees of insertion loss. The Hook Clean 1 is a Fender style tonestack which has a lot more insertion loss than the others.
     
    Smilzo, soheil and pima1234 like this.
  13. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    Ignore my tips. Just set the Tonestack Type to "Hook Clean 2".
     
  14. lonestar

    lonestar
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Germany
    Ahhh - Thanks - is the Channel 3B FWQ5 - 100% indentical to FWQ4?
     
  15. zbaljak1

    zbaljak1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    14

    Any help?????
     
  16. Lifestalker

    Lifestalker
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Eden, NC
    I keep raving about the Hook 1A and I'll stop being so "vocal" about it, but I played on it for about 6 hours last night. Never changed presets (only slight changes to EQ, etc.) the whole time. Usually I'll take a break and play some high gain stuff. It will very likely become my favorite aside from the ODS-100. Cliff, your middle name should have been "the gift that keeps on giving"...lol
     
    jollo, Perdikament and AtomicBlaze like this.
  17. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    Increase the Level knob to compensate.
     
    REDD likes this.
  18. pitta

    pitta
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Germany
  19. zbaljak1

    zbaljak1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    14
    For all my presets with jvm or only one??? Great job and great sound!!!!! TNX!!!!
     
  20. pima1234

    pima1234
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,025
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Location:
    Michigan
    Has anyone played the Comet Concorde model in 5.0?
     

Share This Page