1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Are you successfully using your AX8 via s/pdif?

Discussion in 'AX8 Discussion' started by Whynot Jansveld, Aug 20, 2017.

  1. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Never done it with a focusrite interface, but with my apogee i need to set the clock source to coax spdif. otherwise they clocks aren't in lock step and i get pops as well.
     
  2. Josetxu

    Josetxu
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Arroyo de la Encomienda (Spain)
    I use a Focusrite 6i6 2nd gen and haven't got any problem using SPDIF with it.
     
  3. Will Chen

    Will Chen
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    240
    This thread made me try out SPDIF last night with my ESI MAYA44. Unfortunately, not sure if others cards are the same, but the D/A happens post latency so even at minimal settings things felt different and then I couldn't get my reaper project stable due to some of the large VSTi's I use. Much prefer using the analog outs and my sound card's direct monitoring and upping my soundcard latency to keep reaper more stable.
     
  4. #44 AJ Vargas, Sep 2, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
    AJ Vargas

    AJ Vargas
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Me too.

    I have the exact same problem with my new Scarlett 18i20 Gen2. With my Mbox 3, S/PDIF sync was not a problem (same Macbook Pro same OS (Sierra), Q 0.02). But with the 18i20, I can get it to sync no matter what I try, but... the one thing I discovered is that when everything is hooked I turned the tuner on and suddenly the thing synced!!! Once I passed audio the lock was broken... :mad:

    I know the quality of S/PDIF vs Analog Out is pretty much the same, but i'd like to work with S/PDIF for it's convenience as it's one stage less of A/D D/A for tracking/reamping.

    UPDATE: IT IS DEFINITELY THE AX8.

    I hooked my TC Electronic Nova System (also at 48KHz) with the same cable and all, and locks/syncs just fine, so it's something with the AX8. Hope @joe rogers and/or @FractalAudio chime in and take a look at this.
     
    tlingen and mixministermike like this.
  5. PhillyGTR

    PhillyGTR
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I use an Apogee Rosetta -> MOTU 828mk2 -> Logic X (OSX 10.9.4)
    I flip the Rosetta to 48k and set the MOTU to sync to S/PDIF input. Logic settings are 48k also of course. It's always worked flawlessly for me. The analog outputs on the AX-8, both XLR and 1/4" sound great, so using the digital out is a matter of convenience due to less patching.
     
  6. ratsgym

    ratsgym
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Huntington Beach ca
    I use a Presonus Studio 192 into a Mac Mini OSX 10.12.6. Never had any issue with any Presonus Studios running the AX8 through SPDIF.
     
  7. Geoff

    Geoff
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    i've used Ax8 and SPDIF into Presonus FirestudioMobile on El Capitan and it works just fine for me.

    You should do an official support request to Fractal if still having problems.
     
  8. Tone_Loc

    Tone_Loc
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    23
    Any updates with this?
     
  9. #49 Whynot Jansveld, Sep 14, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2017
    Whynot Jansveld

    Whynot Jansveld
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Seems like we're at an impasse with this... Most devices work with the AX8's spdif, some don't. Strangely, it seems like even within the same brand, some do and some don't, like the Scarlett 18i20 that seems to be pretty much incompatible. And alas, my Komplete Audio 6 falls into that category too, which is a bummer cause I specifically got it so I could have that extra channel 5 & 6 to hook up the AX8.

    For whoever is interested in getting an interface and using the spdif with their AX8, I thought I'd summarize this thread here. Not a complete list obviously, but the findings of this thread so far. EDIT: I do want to stress that these are isolated experiences from users on this thread, and you may get different results on your system (I'll update this list if anyone else posts their findings):

    Reported to work with s/pdif:
    Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
    Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
    MOTU Ultra Lite
    MOTU 828Mk2
    ESI - U24 XL
    SPL Crimson
    UAD Apollo 8
    UAD Apollo Twin
    Behringer FCA1616
    Presonus Firestudio Mobile
    Presonus Studio 192
    Mbox Pro 3
    Apogee Ensemble
    Audient iD22 (with coax to opto adapter)
    Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 (on Windows)

    Potentially problematic:
    Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 (on Mac)
    Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 (EDIT: on Mac)
    Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
     
  10. bloodninja

    bloodninja
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    124
    I have spdif working with my AX8 and Reaper on Windows 8.1
     
  11. ChristThePhone

    ChristThePhone
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't think the available data allows to put together this list. As mentioned before I do successfully use an NI Komplete 6. There are obviously more conditions that influence a successful connection than what your list implies.
     
  12. Whynot Jansveld

    Whynot Jansveld
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I think you're right. Maybe I should amend my post to say that in this limited sampling, there are problems reported with the KA6 on Mac but good results on Windows. The Scarlett 18i20 seems more problematic across the board though, again based on this limited sampling. But your point is well taken. I should make it clear that these are individual experiences and that they aren't necessarily universally true.
     
  13. Brian Vassallo

    Brian Vassallo
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Johan, I would appreciate if you can please assist me, as I have just bought an U24XL interface, and bought a coaxial cable for digital connection between my interface here going into my DAT-30 Tascam. The Tascam is set to 48khz, but it keeps changing to 44khz. In the U24XL software, all things are set to 48khz even my Logic DAW. But still. If You can please help me figure this out. Any instructions and advice really appreciated as I am losing the enthusiasm for this device. BEST / brian
     
  14. Johan Allard

    Johan Allard
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That sounds like it would be something for Tascam support if it keeps changing. My understanding of spdif is that it’s just a bit stream and we have to configure each device to pickup the stream correctly. i.e. there’s nothing in spdif that sends any form of metadata like: “currently sending 48khz 16bit” so we can’t just plug it in and have it work automatically. So if the U24XL is picking up the data correctly, it’s doing it’s job and the problem would lie elsewhere.
     
  15. Brian Vassallo

    Brian Vassallo
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Johan, for coming back. I have pulled out a second Tascam that I had and the same results, however, I discovered that from the U24XL panel, when changing the sample rates, the 32khz and the 44khz change accordingly on my TASCAM. It's just the 48khz that it shows for a split second and then jumps back t 44khz again on my Tascam. The signal is showing on my Tascam meters, so I can guess the digital out of my U24 and the cable work well. However, I noticed that when I highlight DIGITAL from the U24 panel the sound becomes erratic and stuttering, perhaps this has to do with the optical out of the U24? -

    Also note: the ESI has a panel software as you know, so even in there 48 is set, and in my DAW and on my MAC Audio, Midi settings. It's just my both TASCAMS not accepting 48 with digital cable hooked in. When the digital slider is set to analogue on my Tascam, no problems there. 48 shows and stays there. BEST/BRIAN
     
  16. Johan Allard

    Johan Allard
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No worries, the only time I’ve heard any weirdness is when there’s been a mismatch in frequency with the U24. I never use the U24 control software, I only ever look in the Mac Audio/Midi settings panel and make sure it’s set to 48khz digital there and it’s always worked brilliantly.
     
  17. Brian Vassallo

    Brian Vassallo
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it's a very good clear sound, I sometimes think that this unit deserves more attention. Regarding my tech query, was thinking that perhaps continuing to record at 44khz via my digital connection, which works fine, is a very good idea after all.
    Thanks Johan once again - You can google my name .com for the hope that we meet online as links are not allowed here it seems.

    BEST
    BRIAN
     
  18. AJ Vargas

    AJ Vargas
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Mexico City
    For the Scarlett 18i20 with Mac users:

    Just stumbled upon this https://us.focusrite.com/downloads?product=Scarlett+18i20 It's a new revision of their firmware, just released earlier this month, and this are the notes that come with it:

    Changes since last release:

    • Change to fix an issue that could cause Focusrite Control to not correctly update the clock source on a device on machines running High Sierra (macOS 10.13)
    Hope it helps, and if you're lucky, share your experience with us. I'm still having trouble with it...
     
  19. Serge

    Serge
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moscow
    Hi guys!

    It is possible to use only spdif out for reamping?
     
  20. #60 Rex Shawn, Oct 31, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2017
    Rex Shawn

    Rex Shawn
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I really hope someone can give me the answer! thank you! i'm wondering if i plug ax8's spdif out to my apollo twin's optical in, is that able to be direct monitor? meaning i dont need to use DAW that I can get the sound directly from monitor which connect to my apollo twin's output?
     

Share This Page