[Video] My Oh My - That Soldano (Solo 100)

Smittefar

Axe-Master
So @yek's amp series made me try the Soldano - And to me Soldano means Gary Moore more than anything else. It is good ... It is really good. So good in fact that I did something that you are not supposed to do - I started playing Parisienne Walkways. Here in Europe, it is a no-no on par with Sweet Home Alabama and Sweet Child o Mine.

The rhythm track is recorded with the clean channel (Solo 100 clean) and the leads are recorded with the lead channel (Solo 100 lead). In the first chorus, I have my volume knob at 4-5, I turn it up to 10 for the second chorus.

Preset attached: Scene 1 is lead, cleans are scene 2

Attachments

• Soldano.syx
    12.6 KB · Views: 73
Thanks for sharing the pre set bro,..I will check it out over the weekend!!
I never bonded with the SLO in the box hopefully this will change!!

Sounds great! I toured for a few years with an SLO100 but admittedly I've never given this model a good go... I'll have to dig in and check it out :)

I think it's worth a loooooong go - I tried it when I first got the Ax8, but did not really gel with it. When Yek did his series on it, there were suggested settings, and that made the whole difference. I think it is extremely touch sensitive and dynamic. Even with the compressor, I have in front.

Thanks for sharing the pre set bro,..I will check it out over the weekend!!
I never bonded with the SLO in the box hopefully this will change!!
I agree. I heard and SLO live and it was beautiful. I am not able to get a sound like that out of the models. No big deal, as there are many other models that are great in the AX8.

Gary used Soldano much later on in his career. Parisienne Walkways was a Mesa combo. Nice sound in your video though.
SLO are great amps though. I have a real SLO 100 in my studio and it sounds fantastic.

That is probably true, the Soldano is here with him :)