Mark IIC+ difference from FW13 to FW14

rtcook

Experienced
Why has my Mark IIC+ preset changed so much from this FW update? I really hasn't changed much over the last several FW updates. I'm really at a loss on how to describe it as I'm not that good at describing tone. I know there were some changes to the Mesa tone stack or something of the sort? What has changed and what can I tweak to get it back to what I was hearing in FW13?

Thanks,

Roger

Why has my Mark IIC+ preset changed so much from this FW update? I really hasn't changed much over the last several FW updates. I'm really at a loss on how to describe it as I'm not that good at describing tone. I know there were some changes to the Mesa tone stack or something of the sort? What has changed and what can I tweak to get it back to what I was hearing in FW13?

Thanks,

Roger

Recto models changed not the Marks. I didn't notice a huge change.

"Improved Recto models tone stack accuracy. The Recto models now use an exact digital replica of the unique tone control network used in those amps. Furthermore the Presence control now operates like the actual amp in all models (i.e. for those models where there is no negative feedback the Presence control is actually part of the tone stack)."

I noticed a subtle change only but I cannot live without it. I don't think that it is something that you want to get rid of.
I'm not very good at translating sound to words. When I first read the term 'balls' instead of 'bass', I was very jealous of that guy and his terminology.
I will try to explain what happened but I might not be so successful. With FW14, when I hit a chord I feel that all the strings join together more successfully. Tonight I don't give a flying fuck to my tube amp + cab rig which I had 4 years ago. Yes, I really don't care about it anymore!
I got my Axe FX 2 with FW10. I think that this is the most drastic change, even more than 11->12 upgrade.
The model sounds/feels much more usable to me now.