How good of quality are Axe-FX III's wah pedals compared to real wahs?

tveiro

I've never used a real wah pedal before, so I wanted to know how the wah blocks in Axe-FX III compare to the real wah in terms of sound quality.

I use the color tone model and really like it compared to the real wah's I have owned (crybaby, bad horsie). I've never owned the real equivilent of color tone but the tweakability of Axfx wah's imo far outweighs any small tonal diffs there might be. One key factor wrt wah is the physical expression pedal used - get a good one to maximize the feel of Axfx wah - same as in real wah pedals: the physical feel of
it plays a big part imo.

I definitely love the Axe fx 3 wah sounds, very nice and tweakable :) I have owned Dunlop Cry Baby, Vox V847, Vox Clyde McCoy, Geoffrey Teese RMC3, Teese RMC10, old Colorsound, Roger Mayer Vision wah, Fulltone Clyde Deluxe, built many tweakable DIY wahs... probably other ones too which I can't even remember anymore 😅

another thing...
I've gotten rid of the electronics inside a Dunlop crybaby and converted it to use for the axe fx iii

now it definitely feels like a real wah but with the benefits of digital customization

so now I can't "complain" it doesn't feel like the real thing, mechanic, range and feel wise of a real wah!

if you're handy with soldering here's how!

https://ds.engineering/blogcontent/...de-1-build-an-indestructible-expression-pedal

For me, the Axe-Fx is much better than any analog wah. I was never happy with the range controls on adjustable wahs. Now, with the Axe-Fx, now only can I address this per-song, but I also have proper control over resonance and more.

another thing...
I've gotten rid of the electronics inside a Dunlop crybaby and converted it to use for the axe fx iii

now it definitely feels like a real wah but with the benefits of digital customization

so now I can't "complain" it doesn't feel like the real thing, mechanic, range and feel wise of a real wah!