Cables & High Gain tips

paulreedcp

Hey hey!

I'm kind of a new AX8 user although I had the Axe FX II for a while, so I'm pretty familiar with the unit and what it's capable of. My problem is though, I'm not that much of a sound engineer. By that I mean, when I hear a problem, I don't really know what's wrong most of the time or what I could do to solve it. I hope someone here can help me out!

Problem #1:
When I started playing today I heard a noise in some of my presets, also in the cleaner ones with a Fender Vibroverb. I have no idea where that comes from and I feel like it shouldn't be there. Could that possibly have something to do with the cables I'm using? I'm running the unit with XLR's into my QSC K12 active speaker. I think the XLR is a bit old so that's why I thought it could be that... Or maybe my guitar cable?

Problem #2:
I have a bit of an issue with my high gain tone. I made a simple amp/cab preset using the Friedman HBE with a drive block in front and my riffs sound great. Solo tone not so much. It sounds digital and chainsaw-ish (I don't know how to describe this better haha..) playing single notes. I don't know, maybe it's just me.. So if anyone has tips regarding high gain sounds!

Thanks in advance for your help!!

1. make sure you aren't clipping the ins or outs.
2. do you get the same "chainsaw" sound on the factory presets?
3. if you upload your preset people will be better able to help you troubleshoot it