Volume matching across all presets

serge20261

Inspired
Is this something that could be achievable ? I'm a self confessed noob,have no idea about programming,you guys can tell me why this can't be achieved. My thoughts, if it were at all possible to incorporate into the programme a db meter,which in turn would scan thru presets,and even all presets to a pre determined db reading,that would be reflective on the axe actual output

Stupid idea ?
Impossible to achieve ? I don't know,really would like something that could level the volume thru out all the presets
Is there an easier way no way

Love to hear the pro's thoughts

Been discussed many times. The problem is a db meter cannot measure PERCEIVED volume. Distorted tones always sound louder than clean. They are more compressed and have a narrower bandwidth. Clean tones will always clip before you get them as "loud" as distorted tones. The trick to leveling your presets is to start with your clean presets. Use the Level parameter in the amp block to dial them up until they clip the output then back off. Then using the same level control, turn your distorted tones DOWN until they match the perceived volume of your clean tones. Best to do this at gig volumes.

Been discussed many times. The problem is a db meter cannot measure PERCEIVED volume. Distorted tones always sound louder than clean. They are more compressed and have a narrower bandwidth. Clean tones will always clip before you get them as "loud" as distorted tones. The trick to leveling your presets is to start with your clean presets. Use the Level parameter in the amp block to dial them up until they clip the output then back off. Then using the same level control, turn your distorted tones DOWN until they match the perceived volume of your clean tones. Best to do this at gig volumes.

Very useful and practical tip for those of us who have yet to level our presets!

Thank you so much for this practical and "sound" advice! (no pun intended ;) )