The end of the "amp in th room" discussion for me

krcassid

Inspired
I have been using the Axe since the Ultra was 1st introduced. I have tried virtually every FRFR solution and have never been truly happy with the sound I got "live in the room/stage" although recording and FOH were excellent. I have been using a pair of RCF NX12SMAs for about 5 years. I am pretty sure I've read every thread on the "amp in the room" phenomena and found that I was 100% in agreement that the Axe did not measure up in this regard (although I was fully willing to accept that this was just my inability to dial it in correctly).

I should 1st say that I have a studio with a pretty amazing collection of amps dating back nearly 40 years. Amongst them:

2 1965 Fender Pro Reverbs
2 Blackface Fender Twins
3 Fuchs ODS (2 50s and a 100)
2 vintage AC30s
2 Vintage AC15s
3 1970s (Reeves era) Hiwatt DR103s
Pretty much everything Mesa Boogie made in the 80s including:
Mark 2c
Triaxis
Quad Pre
Studio Pre
2:90 Power
20/20 power
And many others...

So, the Axe sits side by side with all these stereo pairs and, IMHO, has never measured up in the room. About 3-4 years ago, I pretty much stopped using my Axe FX except for FOH and in studio. So, when I want to "hear" an amp, I use amps. But, still, something kept telling me that there should be a solution.

Recently, I was reading one of Cliff's comments on speakers moving air etc and today I decided to do what everybody has been saying forever (call me stupid) and plugged my Axe into the Mesa 2:90 power amp and into 2-2 X 12s each loaded with an EV12L and an Alnico Gold. I was messing around getting the routing correct and had not even turned off global power amps or cabs when, BAM!!! Amp in the room all day!!!