Should I get an Axe-Fx?

drewiawesome14

I'm totally new to this forum but I thought this would be a great place to ask. I have been searching all over the internet, posting questions to multiple different forums and sites. I want to know should I get an Axe FX? And what model should I get?

I have been playing for about 11 years now and am mostly metal oriented, but play some blues and country every now and then. I have owned multiple high quality tube amps such as a JCM800, Mesa Mark IV, Mark V 25, Rivera Knucklehead Tre, Peavey 6505+, Dr Z M12, Fender Hot Rod Deluxe and Blackstars just to name a few. I love tube amps more than anything, but sadly I moved and had to sell my gear and now I live in a small apartment with a roommate so I can crank tube amps anymore. I've tried going the pedal route in the past, such as running multiple pedals into a clean amp. I liked it somewhat but not as much as the real deal. I'm not a fan of digital, but have decided its time to head that way and based on everything I see on youtube now some modelers sound KILLER.

My question is with my lack of experience with modelers, is there a specific model I should get? I've been looking at the Line 6 POD HD pro X now for a little bit. It sounds great in some videos, and complete crap in others. I really like everything I see on Axe FX and to be completely honest, I am a big fan of Periphery's tone. Especially on the first album. And a lot of bands I used to play along with used Axe FX's and loved their tone as well.

I dont really want an Axe FX II at the moment, mainly because of the cost. I have been looking at getting a used standard or maybe Ultra. My goal is to try and keep it under $1000, so would a standard or ultra be a good way to go ?

Thanks!

If you are looking for AMAZING tones, any axe fx will blow even the nearest 'competition' out of the water. Even the Ultra is way ahead of anything similar.