Should I Buy an Amp?

toesalad

Inspired
I am a new guitar player - I have been playing for about 2 years now. I have never owned an amp, and my current setup is an FM3 into a pair of HS7 studio monitors.

Part of me wants to buy a real amp and cab just to have one (some of these more modern amps look pretty interesting with built-in load boxes and even IR loaders). The other part of me worries that it would just be a waste of money because the Fractal is just as good (or better).

Reading this forum, I see some people sell all their amps and pedals and go exclusively digital, while others keep some amps around. Since I never started with an amp, I have no prior experience to compare my FM3 against.

Any words of wisdom to share? Being a new guitar player should I stay 100% digital? Or is there value in me getting at least one real tube amp at some point?

Well, it's complicated, I guess, and there probably isn't really a "right" answer. Let's hit a few things to keep in mind, just given what limited experience I can relate.
First off, your FM3 will sound just as good as a real amp, but the experience of playing a real amp is different because of the volume involved. Amps are seriously loud- if you've never played a real amp before, it's going to be eye opening just how crazy loud even a small amp can be. Just for this reason, I find most of them pretty cumbersome to deal with now that I'm embedded in the Fractal Way. To get them sounding right, they have to be moving some air and causing the tubes to be working hard, and that's going to be a challenge if you have a small playing space. What we guitarists think of as being a bedroom amp will still seem entirely too loud to anyone else in the general vicinity.