Recording with the AX8 (PC)

Mizsht

Hi guys!

Just got myself a brand new AX8 (got it yesterday), and I am truly amazed about how GOOD this beast sounds straight out of the box. Just plugged the thing to my amp and I could get amazing tones in no time.

I have been using a Pod X3 for the past 7 years and I always recorded demos through the USB, which was very easy. I know the AX8 does not act as an Audio Interface, so I wanted to ask if you guys have any recommendation on good quality/cheap Audio Interfaces to record with.

I currently do have a Zoom R8 Audio Interface, which I use in my band for samplers. It does not have SPDIF connection, instead, it goes through USB and has XLR outs. Has anyone ever used one for recording with an AX8?

Thank you and sorry for the long post!

Hi! One cheap and good solution would be an iRig interface (there are many models). The simple ones like the iRig Pro or HD would do the trick.
Regards!

Congrats on your AX8! I use the Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 with S/PDIF; however, there are less expensive models without S/PDIF. If you run a search of this forum, you'll find a number of good reviews of interfaces. I chose the 6i6 after reading through a lot of the discussions here.

Sorry for asking such a highly answered question.
I will research on this a bit further and and I will also try out my Zoom R8.

The Apogee One and the iRig look so tiny and portable that make them a good choice, even though portability is not an issue (I will mainly leave the audio interface in the studio).

Thank you all for your replies!

Cheers

I just received my brand new AX8 a few day ago and I'm really happy with it right out of the box.

Specificity, what S/PDIF brand cable are you guys using for the AX8 to the Focusrite Scarlett 6i6? Thanks in advance.

Dave

Sorry for asking such a highly answered question.
I will research on this a bit further and and I will also try out my Zoom R8.