Problem with AX8

Discussion in 'AX8 Discussion' started by Mrinal Dhote, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    S o S - in a gig at the moment - AX8 is coming on but nothing seems to be working - patch up down not happening - the green lights not working - no sound
     
  2. biskitboy

    biskitboy
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Maybe a corrupt preset?

    https://wiki.fractalaudio.com/axefx2/index.php?title=FAQ:_AX8

    "One problem that may cause this is a bad preset. To get around this issue, reboot the AX8, but as soon as the “Splash Screen” is displayed, tap ENTER to load an empty, initialized preset. If this solves your trouble, you’ll need to find and overwrite the problem preset, which may be as easy as pressing STORE, ENTER, ENTER after performing this special startup routine."
     
  3. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    Nothing is moving - I am scared please advise
     
  4. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    Nothing is working
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    Please advise
     
  6. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Did you try the 'Safe startup' from post #2?
     
  7. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    When it starts up, do all of the lights light up like normal?
     
  8. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Did you check your guitar cable? Does your guitar take batteries?
     
  9. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17,316
    Likes Received:
    10,761
    ^ try this.

    have you tried turning it off then on at all? i know you're trying to solve this at the gig, but we need more information.
     
  10. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    How to do that ???
     
  11. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    No my guitar does not take batteries
     
  12. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    I put the Ax 8 on and it gets stuck at this preset - no other lights are coming on - nothing is happening - no bank up or down - tried on off a several times but in Vain - the green switches not coming on too - nothing seems to work only on and off - & no sound coming too
     
  13. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    Nope nothing happened - it is still the same - I tried to plug in to the computer too but the fractal bot and AX 8 not reading only
     
  14. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Read post #2 in this thread.........If that works, don't go to the corrupt preset. Use Axe-Edit to copy any other preset over the corrupted one, then reload it from you backup (if you have one)
     
    1poorplayer likes this.
  15. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    Read that - tried it- in vain - no luck at all
     
  16. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    No - no lights coming on - only led comes on and nothing else working - no lights no sound - no usbcable too. Axe edit and Fractal not reading
     
  17. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    So sorry, I'm out of ideas...............
     
  18. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    No backup rig of any kind? Do you have anything in your laptop, Guitar Rig, etc...? Our bass player had it in his phone and I used it to get through a show once.
     
  19. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17,316
    Likes Received:
    10,761
    when is the last time it worked? are you on stable electricity? when you turn on the AX8, does the screen show animation and movement to get to the screen you showed us?
     
  20. Mrinal Dhote

    Mrinal Dhote
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata, INDIA-
    The last time I used it was at home on Thursday - practicing - then straight to the gig last night - electricity was stable - no problems with electricity -
     

Share This Page