OK, What's the Key Difference in FW11?

Phostenix

Power User
Once 11.01 dropped yesterday, I finally upgraded (from 10.11) and spent about 6 hours playing today. I started with the Axe on FW5.04. Every firmware update has been a noticeable improvement in some area or other, but this one seems to be really noticeable on every amp I've tried yet I can't put my finger on exactly how it's different. It "feels" different and every amp I've tried sound fantastic will just basic EQ & gain tweaking. It's never been easier to use the Axe, but I can't really describe "why".

Has anyone been able to quantize what changed?

While I can't answer your question in technical verbiage, here's my take.

The highs and the cabs took another leap in realism. Maybe the improved highs helped the cabs. Dunno. I'm not an engineer. Oddly enough the first thing I noticed in FW11 was an amp that I've never liked the real world counterpart of.

I know I'm not normal, but it's the JCM 800 series. I liked it when other's played it. But I never liked playing one. I grew up on a 71 Marshall that had a plexi circuit and never liked the mid scoop and loose bottom of a JCM 800. So I'm flipping from preset to preset after the update and hit a preset with this amp and it rung my bell. Amazing how it took me back to the first time I had tried a JCM 800. Scary actually (I've since grown to like these for some things).

The thing that strikes me most about FW11 is the realness of the cabs. Here's another adj for ya. Everything has that "woody" sound to it. And I'm not referring to the excitement of playing FW11 either. The cabs have a characteristic that I've not noticed before. As the matter of fact, so much so that I bought both Fractal IR packs as well as both Ownhammer packs.

Yep. New cabs+FW11 is bliss.

Better balance in eq. And the feeling of hitting the strings is just amazing.

I could not possible get this with my Mesa Roadking II at the volume i play at home.