Newb question for the gigging types - Power conditioners?

jsl2h

Inspired
I have my first upcoming gig with my axe fx II next month and I'm wondering what route I should go as far as power conditioners. I keep seeing that Furman's don't actually make your gear impervious to voltage spikes as they say they will. Right now I only use my Axe at home with one of those Furman power strips in case the mother of all thunderstorms comes along while I'm playing... it was $15 so I figured it was worth it. But for a gigging situation, what could I buy within the $200 range that would guarantee my rig isn't gonna blow up? I cannot afford another axe fx, so I think the investment is necessary but I don't want to buy a glorified surge protector/power strip. I've heard a "voltage regulator" is the way to go. Are there any particular products that those of you who gig can verify has saved/protected their gear over the years? Thanks so much!

Well I am by no means an expert in this arena but everyone I know out there uses a furman in their rack. The one that I got was about $130. I suppose you go on Google and type "furman power conditioner vs." and see what comes up.

I use a Monster Power Pro 2500. I see this one in a lot of pro touring rigs. It's supposed to give you great protection, as well as eliminate unwanted noises. Have not had a surge come through that I know of while playing, but it did get rid of noise I had while using my Furman. Check it out, it has different types of inputs for different types of equipment. Look up the manual and read it, that and some reviews sold me on it. Joe

I keep seeing that Furman's don't actually make your gear impervious to voltage spikes as they say they will.

Furmans are an industry standard for a reason. I also own a Monster for my home theater rig.

Are there other options? Certainly; and different players have different needs.