1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

New ARES Firmware

Discussion in 'Bass & Other Instruments' started by wiz_2112, Feb 13, 2019.

  1. wiz_2112

    wiz_2112
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    16
    Have you tried the new beta firmware? I do not know if it's a placebo effect, but I hear a very good improvement in the sound, especially in the SVT amplifier, my axefx was abandoned but with this update, I like it a lot again. it makes me think that the axefxIII would be great with the bass
     
  2. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10,794
    Likes Received:
    6,575
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    I believe the SVT was remodeled in this FW. It was on Axe Fx III...
     
  3. dr bonkers

    dr bonkers
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    SVT was remodeled for latest FW.

    @austinbuddy and I have been asking @FractalAudio to have the old SVT model back as an additional model selection, as the new version behaves much differently.
     
    AlGrenadine and austinbuddy like this.
  4. austinbuddy

    austinbuddy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Any SV Bass preset correctly leveled (around -12 db) in firmware 1.x firmware will now clip in 3.x firmware with the new amp model -- be aware.
     
    dr bonkers likes this.
  5. Wallygatorr1976

    Wallygatorr1976
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    22
    That is one of the main reason I have returned to Quantum in my FX... It is my backup unit, for playing I have now III, new SVT is completely different and I really struggled to make it cooperating.
     
  6. rldweber

    rldweber
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Currently updating from quantum 5.03 to ares 1.03 xD i imagine it will be a huge leap
     
  7. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19,948
    Likes Received:
    9,699
    Yup. ;)
     
  8. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10,794
    Likes Received:
    6,575
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    A... Uh... Quantum Leap? :D
     
    rldweber likes this.
  9. #9 rldweber, Apr 2, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2019
    rldweber

    rldweber
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Quantum leap indeed. Resolution sounds more realistic. Only found one issue; I had to adjust my gates on rhythm tone. I was playing "mind spun" by animals as leaders and there was a tiny popping sound after each staccato note. Almost the sound you get when you touch pickups with a paperclip. Also went into i/o and turned output 2 gain to -10db because of clipping. Already had output 1 at -9db.
     
  10. rldweber

    rldweber
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    ...how did i overlook that this was a bass thread? O well
     

Share This Page