Need HELP with FX8 hum.

Michael Hege

Hello Forum,
I am new to the Fractal FX8 and LOVE it, but I have a really bad hum problem and was looking for some advice or ideas.

My Set Up:
I have a Fender Elite Tele (Gen 4 noiseless single coils), into a Shure wireless system, into a Dunlop volume pedal, into the FX8 (Mark II), Powered by a Pedal Power 2, running into a Vox AC15.

The Problem:
So I have a fairly simple set up and when I play at my home or at some other peoples houses for Jam's my rig is very quite, just a slight natural hum of single coils and a tube amp, totally acceptable. I also play on my churches praise and worship team and here is where the problem starts. For some reason at the church my set up makes a very loud hum, loud enough to where it is unusable. I set up my chain like normal but instead of going to the amp, I from the FX8 output to a patch bay and then from the patch bay to my amp which is in a back room. The patch bay does not seem to be the problem as we tried several jacks with my set up and the hum persists. Another guitar player ran his rig through the same jacks to troubleshoot and he had no hum issues.

Troubleshooting:
I turn off volume from guitar and the hum is there. Turn off volume with the volume pedal and the hum is still there. Unplug guitar and the hum is still there. Hold the F2 button to bypass the unit and the hum is still there) We tried several known good 1/4" cables, power cables run off of different outlets and same hum. Ran the same set up into another guitarists "back stage" amp and his amp now had the loud hum coming from my rig.

I just got home, set up my rig and its quite again.

Not really sure what to try next any advice would be helpful.

Thanks so much!

Mac