Need help choosing a bass ...

maschoff

Experienced
Ok, I'm a guitarist and am looking for a bass that I can record with using the axe and no bass tone gets me going like Justin Chancellor's but I'm not a bassist and cannot justify spending 6 grand on a Wal bass ...

I've been looking and have found a bass that's closer to my target range; looks like I can pick this up for $2600. ... without the blood splatter ...

Stuart Spector Designs, LTD - Makers of fine electric and bass guitars: UNCOMPROMISING QUALITY | UNPARALLELED VERSATILITY | UNBELIEVABLE SOUND

Anyone have any ideas or know where I might find this cheaper? I'm looking for something that can do it all ... yeah right :)

Let me know your thoughts :)

I'm no bass player, but my wife is. She's been through quite a few of them and her favorite is her Ibanez SR 900. It's a discontinued model, but occasionally, they come up on Ebay for around $600 (you'll have to bid against her, however ;)). Basses are a lot like guitars in that the neck profile is more important than the sound, which can be changed through different pickups/amps. Her second fav is a prototype Mockingbird (the actual prototype from BC Rich's heritage classic series re-released this year from a new factory) and that thing is a BEAST. It's a little bulky for her to stand and play at gigs, but she loves it sitting down at home and practice. She's been eyeing a carbon fiber Emerald Flow bass recently, but hasn't taken that plunge yet.

You are just going to have to try out everything that you can get your hands on because just like guitars, they all feel and sound different.

Ok, I'm a guitarist and am looking for a bass that I can record with using the axe and no bass tone gets me going like Justin Chancellor's but I'm not a bassist and cannot justify spending 6 grand on a Wal bass ...

I've been looking and have found a bass that's closer to my target range; looks like I can pick this up for $2600. ... without the blood splatter ...