My opinion on FAS Cab Packs

Status
Not open for further replies.

ML SOUND LAB

Cab Pack Wizard
Vendor
EDIT: Here's a clip made with Mad Oak TV MIX and AX MIX:

So today I got to try them out and I was let down. These IRs have been on my buying list for quite some time and I was excited to try them out but I honestly didn't find anything that passed my (very strict) criteria.

Saying this doesn't mean these IRs wouldn't suit other people. I'm very picky... but even though I've got only like 5-6 years of studio experience I can tell the mics are misplaced at least according to my school of thought.

I know some people will take this the wrong way and thing that I'm simply bashing the product. This is not what I'm after but simply give constructive criticism.

For those who don't have the experience I'd simply like to point out that what ever is close to a mic when it's recording will influence the sound. F.ex. if you place tape on the cloth to mark a good mic position it will cause weird phasy sounds.

Look at these pictures:

StudioVox.JPG

If that one mic is so sensitive that it needs a pop filter it's okay.. BUT how do you think the Royer will sound when the pop filter is half way in front of it? Well.. basically it's like being in the movies with a tall guy sitting in front of you. :(

StudioVibroKing.JPG

In this pic the mic in the distance is placed so that it should be taking the same speaker which has been blocked by 5 mics. Well... at this distance I'd say it's picking up a lot from the other speakers too... in which case is should be placed center and not in front of that one speaker. Not to mention how the Royer is set once again. :(