Lower gain and legatos

Vitor Mancini

Inspired
I'm starting this thread to ask for some help, I am a newbie on this kind of sound.

I'm having trouble creating a tone that is easy to play legatos and tapping and that still is kinda low gain and has that "tubular" sound.
The thing is, when I kind of find the tone I'm looking for it doesn't have enough gain, so it's REALLY dificult to play tapping and specially legatos.
A nice thing to do is to use a booster to push the tone a bit, so it helps on legatos, but still I can't find the right use for them in this kind of tone.

Here's an example. The whole thing is amazing, but please skip to 0:53 and 11:39. These are great examples, you can clearly hear that "tubular" sound and still it has enough gain for easy legatos and tapping. How do you guys do this? Which amp/booster is used?

I am particularly new in this type of sound, since I use Boogies on pretty much everything I play/record, so which amps do you guys use to sound like this? How do you dial them up?
I'm just entering this lower gain world and there's a lot to learn. Presets would be appreciated!

Thanks a lot! :D

I've used JPs for over 10 years now, and I'm not sure it will capture that exact tone. It will easily allow legato etc.

I may be wrong.

Half that tone is definitely the technique.

With that being said. A tube screamer block (there's a couple) coupled with the mark IV can get you in the ball park. I'd get close to the tone with the bass/mid/greb knobs then use the graphic eq in the Classic Mesa V.

Afterwards. Use an eq block to get the finishing touches. Now keep in mind that time sounds reedy/tubular in the mix but may sound honky and midrangey by itself.

Half that tone is definitely the technique.

With that being said. A tube screamer block (there's a couple) coupled with the mark IV can get you in the ball park. I'd get close to the tone with the bass/mid/greb knobs then use the graphic eq in the Classic Mesa V.