Impulse responses... convolutions? eh?

fret

Experienced
Since I was a wee lad I always wanted a box that behaved like a speaker + mic that I could put between the amp and a DI. I read about the Palmer PDI-03 and how it was "amazing" etc, but didn't feel the $600 odd price tag was justified. Now I have an axefx, and it's kinda IS that box... (and more).

Anyway it got me thinking about the whole Cab/IR/Mic technology and where it could go in the future. Clearly it's working well in the axefx, but what about traditional gear? What if there was a little DSP board that you could load an IR into that had a speaker load built into the input stage, captured the signal from a real tube amp, converted it to digital, ran the IR convolution over it, then outputted it to an XLR jack as analog and a RCA jack as digital. Keep the price reasonable and you'd have a winner! Lots of people doing low volume gigs and studio users would be interested.

By trade I do software, so given enough details about the algorithm I think I can DO that part. The hardware is more tricky... as far as a "load" for the speaker goes, lots of high wattage resistors seems to be the official way. And you can tap off the signal using large value resistors in a voltage division arrangement to get a raw line level signal to go into into the A/D stage. If I can find a suitable DSP I would have a crack at building one. (Can you tell I'm high on success after the whole MIDI foot controller project?). I think apart from choosing the DSP board, the hardware is not going to throw up insurmountable barriers.

Does anyone know exactly what sort of convolution algorithm is actually taking the input audio and the speaker IR and processing it? I'd like to prototype the system on a computer first... just to check it's feasible, and then look at putting it into hardware.

That's a clever and interesting idea. Let me play devil's advocate for a minute to make sure we've got the bases covered.