How can I brighten and make my fx3 presets crisper and closer to the amp I’m modeling ?

Mark jones

I have a Tubemeister36 next to the fractal fx3/xitone and I’ve been trying many presets and twisting many knobs and I just can’t get the amp to sound like the original amp. I notice the same thing with my 72 vibrolux. I can get closer with the vibrolux but there’s still something missing. I am new to the fractal world. The fx3 is the first fractal anything I’ve ever owned. I love the fractal Axe fxIii and the Xitone and I’ve tried all the Dsp modes on the Xitone. I feel like there’s one thing I’m missing, one knob or virtual control I have yet to push or twist that will put me over the top. There’s a crispness that the original amps have that I can’t duplicate with the fractal fx3 live.

Treble, high treble, bright switch, presence.

Also don't be afraid to drop master or gain. Will get that 'touch sensitive' thing you might be looking for. The Fractal amps will do much more than the original amps, so faithful 'recreation' of knobs will probably not get you there.

Well, how would you expect to match the original? There is no model of the Tubemeister...

Also, how are you comparing them? What comes out of the Xitone is the model of a mic'd speaker, where as if you are playing the original amp into a speaker cabinet, you are hearing the sound of that cabinet in the room.

Try micing up the cab of the Amp (in another room where you can't hear the cab) and then comparing that to an IR with a similar mic/cab combination.

You'll have better luck with the Vibrolux since there is a model of that amp in the Axe Fx.

Also, changing presets is not the right approach.

Create a simple post with an Amp and Cab block only. Set the amp model and IR to something appropriate. All the presets are using different amp and cab combos.

For sounds more in the face, rise negative feedback when presence is past noon.