Global amp parameter....what do you do with it?

randombastage

Experienced
I'm studying the manual and wiki and I'm not clear on how you would use the global parameter. It says " the amp will load the parameters from a "global amp parameter list". This parameter allows you to have 10 amps, each with different customizable settings, available to use in any preset."
I think I under stand what it implies generically but just how does that come into play as far as how you guys use it on a regular basis?
Do you have maybe 10 favorite 'go-to' amps that you usually use so you can call one up quickly as a starting point for building a new patch without having to set up every facet of the way you like those 10 amps? Or is the global amp parameter also global in the sense that picking one of the ten will affect any amp in the buffer but not on a permanent level...ie; power down and presets are un-affected by that global change next time you power up?

I've read where new users build a preset somehow in the wrong way, perhaps using the global setting and then can't save their work so they have to start all over again because you can't copy to a preset location...
Something like that, memory is fuzzy with information overload.

Clue me in on some of this if you can so when I get my Axe I'll avoid some of that heartache.
Thanks!
Craig

Although I am not currently using Global Amps, they are exactly as you say, your prime "go to" amps that you can use in any preset. I am currently working through that myself but see this as a major time saving feature.

I use it to set amps with special sounds, clean, crunchy, heavy, metal heavy. May some different voicings of certain amps to get a crunchs of a different vibe. I use them because I play in a cover band and have lots of song specific patches, so when I adjust my 'base' patches, it affects all patches using that global amp. Makes tweaking time less....

The Kid has it right.