First strat , what string Guage do you use ?

1poorplayer

Power User
35 years of les paul , meat and potatoes , humbucker playing , and I just bought my first strat , with the standard SSS pickups.
I love the beef and growl of humbuckers , but there are sounds that live in strat land , where nothing else will DO. I plugged her in today for the first time , and did a little twanging. It's going to be fun , I can tell.
I will be lost in my AX8 , while I rediscover amps and pedals within , that produce the best strat tones.

My question for you experienced players is , what is your preferred string Guage ? I believe 9's come on it standard. I think Gilmour uses 10's , with a couple 9 guage strings in the mix. My Les Pauls I run 10's.

....and any advice with the floating trem ? I am a complete strat newbie.

I have 11s on mine. D'Adarrio or Dunlop. 12s on my Gibsons. I can't have them too far off between the two or I overplay, underplay on them. For me less than 11s is super slinky. But that's just me of course. I have played with 10s, but I can't do 9s.

What is my preferred string gauge? It doesn't matter. It's your guitar. What is your preferred string gauge? That's the only thing that matters. :)

The trem? Some people let it float. A lot of people drop it to the deck so it can only dive. That's my preferred Strat setup. But like string gauge, it doesn't matter what I like. The only thing that matters is what you like. And the only way to find that out is to try.

I have 11s on mine. D'Adarrio or Dunlop. 12s on my Gibsons. I can't have them too far off between the two or I overplay, underplay on them. For me less than 11s is super slinky. But that's just me of course. I have played with 10s, but I can't do 9s.

I put 9's on guitars every blue moon when I need to track something a little outside of my normal speed range.

9's down low enable to me to play faster rock runs but in general 9's feel terrible to me.