1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Clock Question

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by Don Cicchetti, Apr 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Don Cicchetti

    Don Cicchetti
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    You know, It's not a matter of liking the answer. It's a matter of it not even being an answer. Instead it's "oh you'll never hear the difference" and "go measure things" and "you have no grasp of reality"...

    These are not answers they are attacks intended to cover for the fact that someone doesn't have an answer, or worse, no one should ask that question.

    Forums have a personality. This one is not very nice, and not very professional, with a couple of great exceptions for which I'm grateful.

    Don
     
  2. Don Cicchetti

    Don Cicchetti
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    From the website page on the III:

    The Center of your Music Workstation
    A 16-core, 500 MHz microcontroller provides 16 channels of flawless USB audio (8 in, 8 out) allowing the Axe-Fx III to be the center of your music workstation. The audiophile-grade signal path components and converters provide better audio performance than most dedicated USB audio interfaces. With 8×8 channels you can record multiple tracks of processed audio, DI signals, etc., while monitoring backing tracks, auditioning stereo reamps in real-time, and more. A USB audio sound source can even be placed on the grid with its own dedicated block. Windows 7/8/10 drivers are included, and the Axe-Fx III requires no driver on a Mac running 10.7.4 or newer."

    See my next post for a summary of the solution for using this in the DAW world.

    Don
     
  3. R.D.

    R.D.
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
    Did you even read this thread ?

    https://forum.fractalaudio.com/thre...ple-rate-feature-with-firmware-update.149605/

    And if that's not enough, then read this one ....

    https://forum.fractalaudio.com/threads/the-axe-fx-3-works-only-at-48khz.149520/

    You question has been asked and answered multiple times in multiple different threads and the answer from the product designer is ALWAYS the same.

    Sorry you're so put off by the forum ..., but it gets frustrating for the members who understand your situation to answer the same question over and over and over again ....

    I'm actually surprised that someone hasn't already commented that you should use the search function before you post :rolleyes: ....
     
    notalemming likes this.
  4. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Didn’t we just have a very similar discussion that went on for like 7 pages last week on this very subject, with a very similar feeling of banging one’s head against the wall as it simply went nonwhere ?
     
    unix-guy and R.D. like this.
  5. Don Cicchetti

    Don Cicchetti
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, I don't need to, the Axe works fine as a digital source, once it and the computer and interface are all happy. Read on.

    Here's what we learned today. (specifics are only for the RME UFX, Logic Pro, and a Mac, YMMV)

    1. If you do the following, all is well.
    a. send the AES out of the UFX to the AES in of the Axe.
    b. send the AES out of the Axe to the AES in of the UFX.
    c. set the UFX to 48k on the Fireface USB Settings app from RME
    d select the UFX as the device to use in Audio Midi setup on the Mac.
    e. select setup on the Axe and then I/O and then Word clock. set Word Clock to AES/sp/dif in, then sp/dif/AES in to AES. If all is well you will not see a "no clock" warning, and the UFX will show a solid LED on the AES State indicator meaning it's locked.
    f. Makes sure the project preferences in Logic are set to 48k on the audio menu.
    g. Make music.

    Sounds great, works great. No analog. Sure was nice to get the Axe working at it's best and be able to hear what it's capable of.

    Don
     
    BillyZeppa likes this.
  6. Don Cicchetti

    Don Cicchetti
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    As you can see from my post above, working at 48K-only is not a problem in my context here. I gave the solution and it is a much better one than "use the damn analog".

    Glad I could contribute.

    Don
     
  7. notalemming

    notalemming
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    805
    https://forum.fractalaudio.com/threads/clock-question.149650/#post-1776015
    ?????????
    I thought the whole problem was using the Axe digitally on a 44.1k project!
     
  8. Capt Nasty

    Capt Nasty
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    284
    @Don Cicchetti did you read the manual? If you bought the Axe FX without reading at least the introduction to the manual or researching the product, I don’t know what to tell you.

    So your position is that a single, short piece of marketing literature overrides other, more exhaustive resources that provide far more context?

    I am with @unix-guy. I am out. I don’t understand why all of the OPs for these sample rate threads are so damn cantankerous.

    Well dude have fun with your little shit show. I choose mot not play. Bye.
     
  9. Don Cicchetti

    Don Cicchetti
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was willing to switch to all 48 in the future, and I found a way on the Mac to compensate for the 48 on a 44.1 project, so I was in pretty good shape. The debate became about yelling at me and making specious arguments to "just use the damn analog outs" and re-sample them, which I'm not going to do. Then of course we had the usual forum bullies trying ridicule me for that. Pretty predictable.

    In the end, we have a fix. Pretty cool if you ask me.

    Don
     
    notalemming likes this.
  10. Don Cicchetti

    Don Cicchetti
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Another wannabe forum bully.

    I am not relying on the Axe as a studio interface, but your position that it was never intended as such is clearly uninformed.

    Oh, and I read the manual before I made the purchase. I liked the unit enough to try to find a workaround. I did. You can use it yourself!

    You guys need to become adults.

    Don
     
  11. notalemming

    notalemming
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    805
    Well, using the analog outs is a perfectly viable option as is upsampling the 44.1k projects. Anyway, you found a solution that works for you so it's all good.
     
    Don Cicchetti likes this.
  12. ∞Fractals

    ∞Fractals
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    1,050

    Thou protests too much; especially for someone who clearly didn’t RTFM, wiki, or try the search function ...
     
    guitarnerdswe likes this.
  13. Admin M@

    Admin M@
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,116
    Likes Received:
    28,084
    Location:
    Greenest NJ
    Don, it seems like you answered your own question. You went in a direction that I probably would have recommended had I noticed this thread earlier. Personally I run the III via analog ins to my own RME but if this doesn't meet your needs that's obviously fine. Thank you for sharing your method here. As Duke Ellington once said, "If it sounds good, it is good."

    I'm not sure why some people felt the need to respond in the way they did, but I find it regrettable that we can't all be more civil around here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page