Auto clock switching for Focusrite(Scarlett, maybe others) when S/PDIF clock unavailable.

This little tool is exactly what I've been missing so bad! However, I ran into issues with the tool. Both the pre-compiled darwin version as well as the one I was able to compile (of which I'm proud of as a total noob) on my Intel MBP say the same error:

"no such host"

I tried with the firewall turned off, but still got the same error. I'm a total noob with programming, and quite incompetent in Terminal. Any tips what should I do to get the tool to reach to my Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen? Thanks!

This little tool is exactly what I've been missing so bad! However, I ran into issues with the tool. Both the pre-compiled darwin version as well as the one I was able to compile (of which I'm proud of as a total noob) on my Intel MBP say the same error:

"no such host"

I tried with the firewall turned off, but still got the same error. I'm a total noob with programming, and quite incompetent in Terminal. Any tips what should I do to get the tool to reach to my Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen? Thanks!
It connects to the hostname that focusrite control returns, which is your computer name.
But if that is set to something that doesn't resolve, you'll have this problem.
My work mac is set to a hostname that doesn't resolve, so it's not uncommon.

I just pushed a new release 1.11.2 with an option to ignore the hostname that FR control returns and just uses localhost.

Just run it with the -i option to force it to use localhost.
https://github.com/dounix/focusrite-autoclock/releases/tag/v1.11.2

Last edited:
This is awesome!! How'd you work out the protocol?

the focusrite control app that runs in the tray talks to the focusrite control service, just sniffed the network between those two.
They use UDP on a known port, to then discover the TCP service on a dynamic port, after that it's an (nearly) xml stream.