another axefx2 xl+ newbie

Hi i just received my axefx2 xl+ yesterday. I tried some of the presets and they don't appear to sound right.
I use an american standard strat guitar with a rack mount power amp and 2 peavey 4x12 speaker cabs.
any help with setting my unit up would be appreciated. I am basically new to guitar but wanted descent equipment to start with.
I did some looking on the internet and figured this axefx2 xl+ should be fairly good for sound quality.

ok 1/4 inch guitar cables, guitar in front input and and running out of output one left and right into my rack mount power amp with 1/4 inch guitar cables.

Ok, so basicalll what the other guys are saying is don't have a cab "on" in whatever preset you are playing on. That would be like mic'ing a cab, and sending that to another cab a few feet away. Just have your amp + FX active in your preset and it should sound good.

i have my guitar in the front input and the level meter when i strum hard is just coming up to but not hitting the red light
You can raise the input knob, hitting the red on your loudest strums is OK and even recommended

if i disable speaker simulation will i still be able to use the cabs on the unit or no?
No, but you shouldn't if you use real guitar cabs instead of a FRFR speaker

Ok, so basicalll what the other guys are saying is don't have a cab "on" in whatever preset you are playing on. That would be like mic'ing a cab, and sending that to another cab a few feet away. Just have your amp + FX active in your preset and it should sound good.
ok so don't even have a cab block you are saying?
did i select descent equipment to start out with?

The Axe FX 2 XL+ is so good that many of the most respected guitarists in the world use it. The capability of the hardware you have isn't in question. You've certainly got good gear. Most of the questions will revolve around what you plan to do with it (what sounds do you want, styles of music, etc).