A Common Axe-FX complaint:

Radley

Experienced
A common Axe-FX complaint? Although the sounds are very hi fidelity, they tend to be rather thin, lacking 'real amp' balls (this comes from my fellow guitarist in the Neil Diamond band). Do you believe this is accurate, or possibly an example of not knowing the unit well enough?

Last edited:
Could be any number of factors. I am not a high profile guy, nor do I play in high profile projects such as you do. But I find the tones I get and use are *anything* but 'thin' or 'lacking balls' at all.

If we are discussing FRFR; I put the actual final "x" factor on the IR. It's the most vital piece to the puzzle overall; I know that's not a popular thing to say and goes against the grain; but those User Slots can change a LOT of what you actually have. The freebie Red Wire G12M Cap Off Axis @ 3" is just a 100% slam-dunk for most anything in the Marshall realm. Put that in - no PEQ needed, no nothing needed other than a good even Marshall-type of tone and I will guarantee 'thin' or 'lacking balls' will simply not be in the lexicon of adjectives used for the tone.

IMHO, YMMV.

A common Axe-FX complaint: Although the sounds are very hi fidelity, they tend to be rather thin, lacking 'real amp' balls (this comes from my fellow guitarist in the Neil Diamond band).
Well, is it really "common," or is it just coming from the one player? I've heard it once or twice, but I've heard at least as many complaints that the sound is "too dark," etc.

Do you believe this is accurate, or possibly an example of not knowing the unit well enough?