Friedman BE-100 and FM3 - Axe-Fx III (emulate Phil X Demo)

teddis

Fractal Fanatic
Oh man......the Crunch that Phil has in this demo is MASSIVE, no other way to describe it, no wonder he shits his pants.....I haven't heard anything better....but I am no Pro musician. I also love the delay only on one channel of the recording...take out an earphone out half way. I think his VH roots shine large.
I am trying to simulate this on my FM3.
Have a listen !!!

The FM3 Friedman Amp options are:
BE V1
BE C45
HB# V1
HBE 2018

Pretty sure I need one of the BE models, C45 ??...but which one approximates this BE-100 demo ? There is a great close up of the tone stack to dial it in.

In "o'clock" positions. I see the following:
Gain 3
Pres 10
Bass 1
Treb 1
Midd 1
Master 10
Fat OFF (he mentions turning this ON of the neck part....)

Is the Gain control Input Drive, NOT Trim on our models? Any for a CAB recommendation....or use stock :)

thanks !

Last edited:
Uhh.. My Axe3 has not made those tones......yet.
This video is inspiring me to blow off working from home and chase this tone. Man, the tone on the full chords and tightness on the bottom end is great!

Uhh.. My Axe3 has not made those tones......yet.
This video is inspiring me to blow off working from home and chase this tone. Man, the tone on the full chords and tightness on the bottom end is great!
No kidding! I also gotta say that Phil's enthusiasm is also contributing to wanting to just play guitar!

Ok.. Just plugged in. My 'Main' preset, a Marshall Plexi-ish preset sounds pretty darned good. I just ran the video through the same monitors and I feel great about my tone now...lol. It's not all that much different than Phil's.

My first listen to the video was through my iphone speakers. Those must have the amp in the room feel or something....lol. I think I need to buy a sh!tload of old iphones and amplify my tone that way.