Why some amps initially sound bad?

If there was a builtin function to create new preset with just amp and cab, with some predetermined by FAS "good" settings, I can't see how it would be worse than the tone stack at noon and the 1x6 oval IR.

That's basically what a lot of the stock presets are, however the original discussion pertained to default amp settings.

I've gotta say that I dig the "get off my lawn" vibe. ;)

You and I are of like mind (well, partly... I've never had an interest in any PPV event :)).

I started playing guitar (again, after a twenty-year layoff) eighteen years ago. For about a month, I rehashed what I had learned as a kid, realized that it was freaking boring and decided to expand my musical horizons. Roughly *three* years ago, everything started to click for me: completely comfortable with my gear; feeling confident as an improviser; recording consistently good material with my trio; etc. Things have been *really* good for me, musically and artistically, for the past three years.

Now, roll back through the prior fifteen years. I kept notes, but I won't bore y'all with the details. That was fifteen years of false starts and incremental improvements. The only thing that kept me from running in circles, I think, was that I kept notes and lists and a journal and lots of recordings. During those fifteen years I flipped ridiculous amounts of gear, thought - perhaps *hundreds* of times - that I had finally perfected my rig, only to notice something *else* that needed attention. Man, I turned a *lot* of dials...

But going beyond the whole motivation thing, there's a really good reason why no one, not even Cliff himself (despite his vaunted power of omniscience), can program a preset that'll just sound "right" without any adjustment. As others have mentioned, differences in ancillary gear, technique and environment can exert a considerable effect on how one experiences a preset.