Stuck In a Rut

ct6mblue

I feel like I've been playing the same riffs/scales/shapes for the past 3-4 years. What do you guys do to get yourself out of a rut and start playing something new/getting out of the same old routine every time you pick up the guitar?

I understand what you are saying.
But i guess YouTube is your friend!
Search whatever you like, i think you find some good tips here.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Get yourself a (new) teacher, best thing I’ve ever done for my playing to open me up to new things that I haven’t previously thought about.

truefire.com Jeff McErlain 30 Authentic Blues Grooves Simple, fun and easy stuff that will impress you and your friends.

Blues Grooves for Guitar Rob Fletcher /w accompanying cd available from Amazon, et, al.

The list is pret near endless. Google is your friend. So is You Tube.

I must have 20 Truefires if I have a single one. Some of their stuff is too advanced for me, and I've
seen a few instances where they royally screwed up the tabs, but overall a very good deal for what
you pay--and they even throw in an occasional free blog lesson. Excellent quality video. You can
subscribe or pay up front. Pick your poison. I recommend.

What I love about that Guthrie Govan video is how much emphasis he puts on using the methods to create your own songs. Also, I literally laughed out loud when he said, "You'll find that three of them sound good in minor keys, three of them sound good in major keys, and one sounds horrible." Poor Locrian mode, you never get any love.

What I love about that Guthrie Govan video is how much emphasis he puts on using the methods to create your own songs. Also, I literally laughed out loud when he said, "You'll find that three of them sound good in minor keys, three of them sound good in major keys, and one sounds horrible." Poor Locrian mode, you never get any love.

I never did find a use for ol' locrian outside of metal. That dude is amazing though, never encountered him before.