Your 'Ultimate' Tone?

mortega76

Fractal Fanatic
I've been doing some TM lately and have been getting some pretty good results with 11.03... not as easy as I remember when we didn't have the offline/live option but non the less still really good.

I would love to know what you folk's 'ultimate' guitar/bass tone would be? Doesn't matter what genre...

For me?

Korn - Ball Tongue

There is just something so aggressive about this track... especially right at the 3:52 mark as in this YT video. And the bass? Fieldy along with Flea are the reason why I was in a band playing bass for five years even though I was a guitarist at heart.

I know most of the stuff out now a days sounds much 'clearer' and such but the guitar and bass tone on this track just oozed awesomeness.

I have so many tonal loves, but for me Ben Moody has amazing tone on the first Evanescence album, though it changes throughout the album.

Then there's my all time favorite band, Within Temptation. Both Robert and Ruud understand tone and layering so damned well (I've talked to them at length about it).

As far as bass and guitar fitting together, IMO, nobody blended better than Type O.

I love me some Amy Lee, best female vocalist in any genre for me! Definitely was a shame that Ben left the band... they were a great writing duo. Damn Sid, that Within Temptation vocalist gives Amy a run for her money though...

I love me some Amy Lee, best female vocalist in any genre for me! Definitely was a shame that Ben left the band... they were a great writing duo. Damn Sid, that Within Temptation vocalist gives Amy a run for her money though...

Dude, I saw WT in St. Paul quite a few years ago and her in-ears went dead. She popped them out and proceeded to sing one of the most vocally intense songs in their library... without a wedge. NAILED it. IMO, Sharon is one of the best vocalists in the world.

Edit: Here's the song I was talking about

Last edited: