Will this ever sound good in a live band setting?

stevieg

Am I wasting my time and chasing something that I will never achieve?

For recording the Axe AX has been great. For live use not so great. I have an Axe FX II XL, Matrix GT1000FX, Port City 2 x 12 with Celestion V Types. Cab Sims Off, Power Amp Sims on. I am an experienced guitarist and live sound engineer. I have used many amps over the years. For some reason I cannot get the Axe FX to deliver (in a live band setting) a truly realistic sound no matter what I do. Eg: A basic 65 Bassguy preset I created sounded great on a recording. Tweaked it in my music room at home for live use (using my live rig). Sounded pretty ok I thought. Rehearsed with the band, it sounded thin; lacked something. Spent hours the next day tweaking it and also dialled in a JTM45 preset and an AC30 TB preset. Went to the next band rehearsal thinking I'd got it right. Sounded worse than first rehearsal. Thin and artificial. Spent two more days tweaking. Scraped the Bassguy and AC30 presets. Spent ages tweaking the JTM and also created a Badger 30 which sounded better than any of the others. In fact in my music room the Badger 30 preset sounded good and almost the sound I was looking for. Soundchecked for a gig... again it sounded thin and artificial. Tweaked it following soundcheck based on what I heard and didn't like during soundcheck. Used it for the gig. Still missing something.