Will the FCB1010 do this?

So fair warning here, I'm really new to the concept of MIDI, but would like to get a controller for the Axe. Wondering if the FCB will do all of this well, and if there are any major drawbacks to the unit.

• I'd like to be able to swap between five patches and add/subtract a few pedal blocks from each patch on the fly.
  • Use all functions of the looper.
  • LED's indicate on the FCB that the block or patch is on/off

There are some replacement chips out there, is one better than the other?

I know that there are a lot more flexible units out there, but for right now this is as much as I can see myself doing with foot switching.

So fair warning here, I'm really new to the concept of MIDI, but would like to get a controller for the Axe. Wondering if the FCB will do all of this well, and if there are any major drawbacks to the unit.

• I'd like to be able to swap between five patches and add/subtract a few pedal blocks from each patch on the fly.
  • Use all functions of the looper.
  • LED's indicate on the FCB that the block or patch is on/off

There are some replacement chips out there, is one better than the other?

I know that there are a lot more flexible units out there, but for right now this is as much as I can see myself doing with foot switching.

with the UnO chip you can do most of it.

bottom or top row is for presets
the other row is for IA's (turning blocks on/off or looper, ...)

the problem is that those 5 IA's will always send the same CC numbers (2 IIRC).

If you're always using the same FX to turn on/off then there's no problem.

If not, you could use the same CC number for several FX. As an example you could create an 'modulation' IA with CC 2 and set CC 2 to TRE, ROT, PHA, FLA
that way all those FX would be turned on if used in a patch. drawback is that if you use more than one of them in a patch, they always will be turned on/off together.