Will AxeFX improve my quality of life?

I am wondering about buying Axe-FX and would like to ask some opinions.

I’ve been playing acoustic guitar at home for many years and have quite recently made the step to playing electric guitar and joining a band which plays a combination of heavy-ish rock originals and covers from bands such as AC/DC, Metallica, Queen, Dragon, U2, Saving Abel, Collective Soul, Heart, Pink Floyd to name just a few.

I need a wide variety of sounds and the ability to easily switch between them. At the risk of beating about the bush, here is a brief description of my current gear:

A few nice guitars: Gibson SG Classic (main axe), Fender Strat, Gibson ES 335, Guild Bluesbird.
A so-so digital FX and amp modeller: Boss GT-3
London Power 2-channel tube pre-amp.
Mesa Boogie 20/20 stereo power amp
1x12 home-made cab with Celestion V30
2x10 cab with unidentified vintage speakers which sound OK to my ears.

I cannot get really good sounds and switching out of this combination. The pre-amp drive channel is OK, but the clean is not great. The Boss cleans are OK and the effects are not bad for my purposes but it is hard to get nice crunch or distortion from it. Trying to tie it all together with 4CM is tricky and I lose my tube tone anyway by feeding through the Boss. Bypassing the Boss with a looper is fiddly, since I’m feeding a stereo power amp. I could put some decent pedals in front of the pre-amp and use the Boss for time based effects only, but again looping in/out is tricky, plus I’m starting the tap-dance and I have to ask myself if the money on pedals is really worth it. You can see where this is heading….

So, I am thinking of buying an AxeFX. I’ve been reading reviews and forums and it looks like the duck’s nuts for getting high-quality repeatable sounds and effects without sacrificing tone and dynamics.