Where is the Sat switch? Also, recto problems.

Raab90

Inspired
Hey, I'm new to the highgain stuff.
First of all, where is the Sat switch supposed to be located at? Can't find it in any of the models. I only see the Boost, Cut, Fat, Bright switches.
Second, the rectos seem to have very low gain. I remeber using them a few firmwares ago and they had lots of gain.
I downladed Clark's Petrucci Rig and it didn't sound anything like his recording. what am I doing wrong?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpaRy5gbWG8

Sat switch now resides on the [adv] tab in the AxeFx, 7th line, and on the [other] tab in AE.

Do you have a midi pedal attached? Maybe recall the preset on that.

I just loaded the preset and the IR and it sounds pretty much the same as the clip. Sat was off, BTW. AFAIK, CK is using a II, not the XL, but they should convert alright. What am I thinking. This preset is pretty old by now, at least around FW 12.x or 13.x. The XL didn't exist yet at that time. Anyway, it has no scenes enabled, which would have been nice to show the tones in the clip.

I like stroopwafels. And CCCs. Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Last edited:
Thanks for you reply!
To get Clark's tone, you used the drive block too right? Because I didn't.
Basically I'm trying to ask if clark's gain in the video is all the boogie, without any sort of boost engaged. I've always known dual rectos as high gain monsters.

I was comparing the recto model to the on in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j34U7k6mWzI

I dialed the same settings for both the red vintage and red modern and it gets reaaaally similar but only if i activate the sat switch (Authentic)

Sorry for my ignorance regarding rectos and high gain. I'm a plexi guy D:

Stroopwafels wat. I have to try those one day, they look delicious!
Soon I will begin my journey throughout the seven seas, across all realms, in the search of the holy waffle.