What do you think of what this guy said?

Chrose1201

Inspired
Quick little background. I play in a southern/classic rock band. I was using a Friedman Dirty Shirley 40W but it couldn't really nail the cleans I needed for some songs, so I bought an FM3. I bought the Cooper Carter tutorial but found that I have a tin ear and I am not good at tweaking so I bought the Austin Buddy Live Gold and settled on the 59 Bassguy preset. I use the single coil scenes for my Les Paul and everything was good. But I felt like something was missing so I worked with Rosh Roslin for a preset. He built me 3 scenes. 1) Clean with a 65 Bassman, 2) Edge of breakup with a JTM45 and 3) a Rock tone with a Capt. Hook 2A. They sound good and work for my gigs, but after my last gig I was still not happy with how everything sounded. I started to look back to tube amps. My Friedman still doesn't cut it, but I liked what I was hearing from the Amplified Nation amps. I started a thread on a forum looking for input and a guy said this: "
Before you buy or sell anything, take that FM3 and run it into any of your tube amp's return on the effects loop. Best of both worlds, modeler to mimic varieties of tones + tube amp dynamics/balls. You may get better tones running it into the front, so try that too. You may need a volume/input pedal to control volume of the modeler. I should but have not bought one yet.
I did this with my L6 Stomp XL into my DSL100H and it covers everything we play. Yeah, still not exact but closer for me.

It sounds like he's suggesting essentially to use the FM3 as a pedalboard of sorts but instead of for effects, using it for the presets. I have a SD Powerstage 170 for the power amp, so wouldn't this suggestion be rather redundant? I also run the FM3 into a 1-12 FRFR cab.

But I wanted to run this by smarter people than me. Thanks

Just another option, though it can be a good one.