What do you do with your Bass Frequencies?

Tremonti

Fractal Fanatic
Curious what you all do with you bass frequencies. Again no right or wrong answers here. Just wanna know how you tame and tighten? Write also style of music, amp model, and FRFR or amp/cab. Thanks!

I use mostly FRFR systems - a mix of different ones to boot. I play easy listening stuff these days, but I have a LOT of experience with metal, jazz, fusion, blues, prog, instrumental and a lot of island type music that most people never heard before.etc, my current style these days is somewhat Andy Timmons-ish, just without the skill LOL my tones are also similar to Andy, and are clean to country twang. I still jam metal from time to time tho :p

I've found that chopping off bass generously or throwing it away altogether is the solution, live and in studio, no matter the style. If you want that amp in the room vibe, you might want to leave the bass, but otherwise, I start chopping off at 80-100 hz. Sme of the flubby sounds can disappear at about 120-150hz, and things start to tighten up at about 175-200hz, but by that time you've likely lost a lot of chunk. Enter the bass player, who will fill that space easily, in studio or live. Having a keyboardist in my band, it works out well also. YMMV, but generally, if you chop off about 120hz you're saving yourself a load of problems. Again depends on the amp tho.....for eg, any vox amp gets a low cut till about 300-500hz sometimes! :eek:

I sometimes also use a multiband compressor, at times where I want that lower chime....like in the clean solo picking intro to a song or something. I'd apply some pretty decent compression (bout 2:1) on everything below 150hz. I still chop off everything at least at 80hz tho, even when doing this. I also compress some of the highs btw, to tame some of those unruly frequencies.