1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Using the FX8 with Mooer RADAR pedal?

Discussion in 'FX8 Discussion' started by Drifts29, Apr 11, 2019.

  1. Drifts29

    Drifts29
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I have a few solo gigs lined up soon and instead of lugging around an amp/cabinet I've decided to go with the Mooer Radar pedal cab IR sim. Are you guys familiar with this pedal? I've heard great things about it. Anyhow, I'm going to be performing over backing tracks through PA speakers. Is the FX8 considered a PREAMP? Because I want my signal chain to go as follows: Guitar > FX8 > Mooer Radar pedal (with loaded IR cabinet of choice) > Mixer > Powered PA speakers. Would this work? Is there anything else I need?

    I know the FX8 is designed to go through an amp which is why I'm curious if this will work?
     
  2. assinger

    assinger
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    It should be possible because the Radar has power amp sims, too. But maybe it would even be better to use it together with a preamp pedal like the AMT F-1 which even has a loop for 4CM.
     
  3. #3 Colorado Axeman, Apr 23, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2019
    Colorado Axeman

    Colorado Axeman
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    83
    I'm not sure what kind of guitar tone you're after, but I did a couple of gigs with my Stones tribute band using a Joyo American Sound (inexpensive clone of the Tech 21 Blonde amp simulator) followed by a Mooer Radar pedal straight into a direct box and it sounded great. I had the Joyo set right at the edge of breakup, and then used OD pedals for dirt. I wouldn't hesitate to do that again and put a FX8 in front of a setup like that.

    Here's a few short demos that sound like the tones that I was getting.


     
  4. mikhael47

    mikhael47
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada
    I use the Mooer Radar in conjunction with a Binary Hotone Amp simulator with the cabs shut off on the binary. It works very well and I have pretty much tone matched it between it and my Mesa Mark 5:25. I use a custom cab loaded in the Radar (i think it's based on a bogner cab).

    The reason I use the Binary Hotone is because it's an amp sim that actually has an effects loop in it. I do not have to change my patches to sound good through the radar.
     
  5. mikhael47

    mikhael47
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada
    You shouldn't need to use a DI with the Radar. I use a TRS to XLR cable direct to the mixer. Your mileage may vary but I see plenty of signal at my mixer this way.

    The one thing I can say is that if you are using IEM, the frequencies that come through are pretty broad... you'll need to trim out some eq (to taste) so that you don't use up all the power of the IEMs.

     

Share This Page