Using a booster in FX Loop for solos

Discussion in 'Rigs and Routing' started by Gjerny, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. Gjerny

    Gjerny
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, for a solo volume boost I intend to use a booster pedal (EP booster) plugged into the Axe FX send and return, where should I place the "FX Loop" block in the chain? Also, are there any parameters I need to adjust or look out for on the I/O or on the FX Loop block itself?
     
  2. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17,080
    Likes Received:
    10,626
    You could also just use a Filter block and boost the level without hooking all that up. But you didn't tell us what pedal or why, so I assume there's a reason.

    Are you boosting amp Gain or just want a clean volume boost? That wasn't clear either. If the first, put it before the Amp block. If the latter, put it after the Amp block.
     
  3. Gjerny

    Gjerny
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for reply Chris! I prefer using a physical pedal as I can make quick adjustments on the fly. And I'll be using it as a clean boost. So its AMP-FXL-CAB?
     
  4. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    He said "EP Booster"... Unless that was an edit?
     
  5. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17,080
    Likes Received:
    10,626
    Oh, that's the pedal *thumbs up*

    That works. Though I'd put it after the Cab block as well just in case you use any drive settings in that block.
     
  6. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    The real pedal goes in front of the amp... I would put it in front of the Amp block.
     
  7. flash6969

    flash6969
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    45
    FYI - I use the filter block as a. Post in front of my tube amp. Works great - give it a shot
     

Share This Page