Upgrading macbook pro 13" with new ssd

Mr.RangoTango

Experienced
Hi! For a long time, I've wanted to upgrade my macbook pro 13" with a new ssd instead of the noisy and slow hdd.

I'm thinking about replacing the dvd slot (optical drive??) with my current hdd as extra space and then a medium size ssd as primary memory.

Is this the right way to do it? And simply, how do I do this? Do you guys have any experience with this?

I'm a real rookie at this, but I have an external hard drive with 2 terabytes. How do I copy my entire computer to the hard drive and then only copy the important stuff back onto the new SSD?

The SSD will generate less heat than the HDD so I'd leave the HDD where it is to get the proper ventilation and install the SSD in the optical drive space.

You also then will have the benefit of having all your files still on the hdd to copy the required ones across to your SSD once it has been formatted with Drive Utility and had OSX installed and designated as the startup/system drive. (You should still do a complete Time Machine backup of your current system to your external drive first before beginning as a precaution perhaps).

You will need a new caddy to fit the new SSD into so it fits into the Optical bay

A few helpful tutorial vids out there on YT - this one shows the hardware needed and the process of removing the optical drive and fitting the SSD - How To Add Second A SSD to Replace Optical Drive MacBook Pro 2012 - YouTube

The SSD will generate less heat than the HDD so I'd leave the HDD where it is to get the proper ventilation and install the SSD in the optical drive space.