Update amps after new firmware?

Paresh

I know this is a common issue but I still don't quite understand. I'm new to fractal and have a new unit so I haven't done any editing of presets yet. I updated to version 8, do I also need to reset the amps for version 8? Thanks.

Follow the instructions in the Release Notes:

• Setup > Global Settings > Config > Spillover must be set to “ALL”
  • Your presets must be saved under firmware 8.x or newer. You can do this manually in any of the usual ways or use the automatic utility in: SETUP > Utilities > Preset > Upgrade All Presets.
    IMPORTANT: Saving a preset under 8.x makes it incompatible with previous firmware versions!
    Use Fractal-Bot to make a backup first in case you ever revert to an older firmware. Make backups!
The new default amp block values are automatically applied when the preset is loaded the first time after updating. The Upgrade All Presets utility does this automatically for all of your presets and re-saves them under the new firmware.

As posted in this thread: https://forum.fractalaudio.com/threads/update-fm3-gapless-update-checklist.205109/#post-2559634

Here is what I have experienced...
  • Updated FM3 Edit to 1.06.09
  • Upgraded from FW 7 to FW 8
  • FM3 Setup Menu
    • Global Settings
      • Gapless Changes set to “ALL”
      • Spillover set to “ALL”
    • Utilities
      • Preset Tab > Upgrade All Presets
Subsequently copied my custom presets, and reset the amp block in the copied version only via Presets > Manage Presets > Select preset(s) > right click > Reset Amp Blocks.

What I have observed (across several presets with different amp models) is the Speaker Drive and Speaker Thump settings in the Speaker tab changed after resetting the amp blocks.