1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Wish Tuner Engages When Volume Block is at Minimum via Exp. Pedal

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Wish List' started by decreebass, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    New York
    This would save some time and extra programming and button pushing.

    Just a simple option in the Volume block that engaged the tuner when the Expression pedal controlling it was at minimum (toe up) position - or within a certain range of volume; say, within the lowest 10%. Make it adjustable! Thanks Cliff. Love the Axe :)
     
    Jeff Greene, Megahertzz and -jem- like this.
  2. jefferski

    jefferski
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    1,226
    Location:
    Denverland
    I like the idea, as long as there isn't any audible glitch - you wouldn't want this to interfere w/ doing volume pedal swells.
     
  3. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    New York
    Yep. That's why it'd be at the very bottom of the volume curve (or again, adjustable to the last 10% or so). Right now there's no audible glitch when engaging or disengaging the tuner, so I don't think that would change.
     
  4. -jem-

    -jem-
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    8
    Great idea! that would save me a button on my midi board
    +1
     
    decreebass likes this.
  5. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    New York
    Exactly my thought. For now, I'm just using the second expression pedal on my FCB1010 to accomplish the task; but if I ever want volume, wah, AND whatever pedal's function was freed up by not having to have a dedicated tuner pedal, then I'm out of luck.
     
  6. brianv4

    brianv4
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Location:
    Burlington, NJ
    or perhaps a tuner always active on the display mode.
     
  7. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    New York
    I think they already have that; can't really see that from across the stage, though :(
     
  8. Douglas Hunter

    Douglas Hunter
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How exactly did you set this up??? I am trying to accomplish having a tuner on the FCB1010. I am using the Eureka Prom 3 and Axefx Standard
     
  9. trixdropd

    trixdropd
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    66
    not gonna happen. Sry
     
  10. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    New York
    This is one of the reasons I advocate AGAINST anything other than the stock chip. While they add a little much-needed functionality, they also take away a lot of what makes the FCB1010 so great and virtually unlimited in capability.

    How I've set the tuner up on my FCB1010 is that I use EXP Pedal B as my tuner (since I don't use it for wah). Basically, I set the Tuner to a particular CC# in the Axe Fx III, set the pedal to the same, then bam! Toe down engages the tuner, toe up disengages it. Too easy.
     
  11. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    What you described is possible with non-stock chips. "Not gonna happen" might be referring to tuner display on the FCB. The EurekaPROM could do this with the Axe-FX II.

    Also FYI the Uno chip doesn't really limit the user vs. the stock chip. Stompbox mode is optional. It's also possible to use 10 preset/bank or direct select mode just like the stock chip. (I'm not sure if EurekaPROM can do either of those.)
     
    trixdropd and Don Watters like this.
  12. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    New York
    Bump. I would like to suggest that this feature be added to the Volume block's controller page; maybe something as simple as a checkbox to have tuner come on when "External Controller at minimum"
     
  13. phil92

    phil92
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    I support the motion

    alternatively, could it be assigned a CC *and* value?
     
    decreebass likes this.
  14. Alexis

    Alexis
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Austria
    upvote for this idea!
     
    decreebass likes this.

Share This Page