Trying not to pull my hair out

Hello all,

Complete noob here so please bear with me. Just received an EV-1 and am trying to calibrate it as a wah. I have an FC-12 but after an hour of beating my head against the wall trying to set it up that way, I figured I'd try to connect the pedal directly to the unit. I think I followed the steps in the manual but all I get is a sound like the wah is in the up position and nothing happens when I move the pedal. I like to think of myself as a relatively intelligent guy but I just can't figure it out. It can't be this hard so I must be missing something. Any help appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Scott

First: are you certain you're using a TRS cable? Needs to look like this at both ends:

View attachment 77081

A lot of trouble starts from people using a TR cable that doesn't have three conductors in it.
I totally made this mistake before :tearsofjoy:. I was SO pissed. Hopefully, this helps OP. I'm not sure who helped me on my go around. But thank you iaresee and all the other helpful people on this forum!

Hello all,

Complete noob here so please bear with me. Just received an EV-1 and am trying to calibrate it as a wah. I have an FC-12 but after an hour of beating my head against the wall trying to set it up that way, I figured I'd try to connect the pedal directly to the unit. I think I followed the steps in the manual but all I get is a sound like the wah is in the up position and nothing happens when I move the pedal. I like to think of myself as a relatively intelligent guy but I just can't figure it out. It can't be this hard so I must be missing something. Any help appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Scott
when connected to the FC, did you select it properly in the unit?

Have assigned the sweep of the wah to a modifier?

When you assign the modifier for the wah, you'll have a menu of stuff to assign it to, make sure you assign it to whichever FC pedal slot you have your EV-1 plugged into.