Tone wasn't good enough for recording

hayashi

I've had my Axe Fx Ultra for a few months now and dialed in the best tones of my life for live use. This weekend I headed into the recording studio to record a track for a tribute album. I tweaked my tones at home by recording myself to my computer to make sure my patches translated well. I'm a novice at home recording.

I told the recording engineer that I'd be bringing in my own amp and that "if the tones aren't good, I'm cool to use your gear". So it came time to record my guitar and asked only for a XLR cable. He confirmed that I didn't need a cab and I said that I'd be going direct. He gave me a look but said ok. I played through my patch and he said that it didn't sound that great. We then went to his amp and he mixed a Marshall JVM with a Mesa Rectifier and that tone blew my tone away.

It has nothing to do with the Axe Fx, but more like my inexperience in dialing good tones for recordings. I'm bummed because I thought I'd hit it out of the park. I went home and was trying to dial in tones that match what I got in the studio, but now I'm second guessing myself everywhere. Not enough highs? Too much gain? Not enough mids? Do I even have the right amp?

GAH. It's not GAS I have now (the AFX can do it), just the typical "is A tone better or B better" which my band mates say "they sound the same dude".

Did you ask the engineer from the studio for dry tracks of just your mic'd guitar signals from the JVM and Dual Rec? If not, I would do that ASAP and try your best to match those tones using just an amp block and cab block from the Axe-FX. If you're trying to match tones while listening to the guitars in the final mix it is going to be a really fruitless endeavor IMO.

Next, you should ask him what post-processing he applied to your guitar tracks during the mix stage. Then you can either replicate it on your Axe-FX patch or just do it in the DAW when you're home recording.