Suhr Thornbucker 2 and Duncan 78

sandmannn69

Experienced
I've got a Suhr Modern guitar with a Suhr SSH+ in the bridge that I'd like to replace with a lower output humbucker. I've noticed some folks seem to
like the Suhr Thornbucker+ or the newer Thornbucker 2 in place of the SSH. It looks like the Thornbucker 2 is almost identical in spec. to the Duncan 78,
which I happened to have laying around. Does anyone have any experience with the Thornbucker 2?

I have the Thornbucker 2 in my Standard and it's my favorite pickup out of the three I own.
It's lower output than the SSH+ in my Modern.
It sounds slightly higher output than the Thornbucker + in my PT model.
It's just a great sounding pickup that sounds great with all of my presets from clean to chunky Mesa tones.

I have no experience with the Duncan 78. Pete Thorn posted a youtube video chasing Van Halen tones comparing several pickups including the Thornbucker 2 and the 78 I believe.

I have the Thornbucker 2 in my Standard and it's my favorite pickup out of the three I own.
It's lower output than the SSH+ in my Modern.
It sounds slightly higher output than the Thornbucker + in my PT model.
It's just a great sounding pickup that sounds great with all of my presets from clean to chunky Mesa tones.

I have no experience with the Duncan 78. Pete Thorn posted a youtube video chasing Van Halen tones comparing several pickups including the Thornbucker 2 and the 78 I believe.
Thanks for the heads up, I watched that video again-the 78 and the thornbucker A2 sounded identical.

As for the SSH+, I lowered it to 1/8" from strings and really improved the clarity(that was missing).